Easy Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I agree that the basic recipe is dry, but if you don't drain the can of salmon it holds together really nicely and the measurements don't have to be altered. I added sharp cheddar cheese to my mix for some additional flavor and the cheese browns really nicely in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
The taste was moderately good (didn't knock my socks off but okay). But the patties were extremely dry. In fact, I had a hard time holding them together just going from the plate of bread crumbs to the frying pan. Also, needed more oil/butter than called for - they really soaked it up. I think this recipe could benefit from adding a little milk to the mixure. Two eggs and a little lemon juice are not enough moisture for this much dry ingredients. Also didn't need so many bread crumbs in the plate for coating, I threw half of it away. Needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
These weren't great. I had to add 4 eggs just to get it to stick together and then it just tasted way too bready. My husband really liked them, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Yummy cakes! My hubby is an avid fisherman so I used leftover fresh grilled salmon. Nice with a dijon tartar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I think the changes I made messed me up! Too many dry ingredients to wet ingredients= crumbly dry salmon cakes! They still taste ok, but next time I will stick to the recipe. I also didn't have a 14.75 oz can of salmon, but I had two 6 oz cans, so there was a problem from the start. But the taste is good and I would try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
A little dry and bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bizzy Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Very good cakes, tastier and lighter than potato based cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Pretty good - not too dry. A little too much bread taste for me. I would add a couple of fresh ingredients next time - like finely cut celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumsy'sCouchPotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is simple, quick, easy, tasty, and good cold, too. I made it from left over barbequed salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
OOPs I left out the lemon juice, but it was really GOOD. I will use this recipe from now on, I will try the lemon juice next time. The only other thing I changed is I cooked it in olive oil cooking spray. Not the Great buttery flavor, but a small sacrifice for low calorie/fat. Thank You for sharing. rhkatz3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States