Easy Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
We made these and loved them; will definitely make again! They were flavorful, moist, and not overly-fishy. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was so yummy! And easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viv
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Bf wanted salmon cakes and told me he originally found a salmon cake on here, so I went looking for him. We had to go through a few recipes before he said he thought this was the one. He said he'd always used Saltines, though, so I'm not convinced it's the same. Regardless, he used half Saltines and half bread crumbs. These were a bit dry and needed another egg. He doesn't use onions, so he left them out. I'm sure he'll make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
excellent recipe, to add a little kick to them i also add chopped fresh chilli or serve with some hot pepper sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Excellent. Served with polenta, kale, and roasted beets. Used pre-baked fresh salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskamojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Love this! My husband dislikes salmon and he loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This is a good classic recipe. Great as is, or substitute Panko (fine breadcrumbs.) With a single batch, I tried both frying and baking, sprayed with Pam, and my family could not tell the difference. I'll bake them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I used leftover fresh salmon and these were so delicious. Made as written and we enjoyed the flavors; I did cook them in olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I found the original recipe a little bland and dry, but the ideas this recipe spawned lead me to this. I substituted fresh salmon that I pulsed in the food processor; (to form small chunks) used fresh bread crumbs along with a couple of tsps of Old Bay. The cakes I made were thin,(like 6 oz hamburger patties) so the salmon would cook before they browned too much. I cooked them using half butter and oil. It imparts a little better flavor then oil alone. They were extremely moist!!! I've used two sauces: first, I tried a dill flavored Hollandaise. Quite nice. Next, I made a Brown Butter and found the nutty flavor worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Not the greatest, but they were good. I didn't have any lemon juice so I used milk, and after reading some feedback I leftout some breadcrumbs, but it was still a little dry. Cooked in oil instead of butter, and they browned alot better then the first two I cooked in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Brady, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States