Easy Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This is a good, basic salmon cake. You can use crushed saltine crackers or chips for the fresh breadcrumbs. If you use dry dill, (which isn't a sin, by the way) make sure you half the amount. Dried herbs are about twice as strong as fresh herbs. I like to add some lemon zest and some minced, fresh garlic and onion to my salmon mixture. The green onions are a great idea! If your cakes aren't coming together nicely, add mayonnaise - low fat, of course! That is really delicious in a salmon cake! Please refrigerate your patties for one hour before cooking. Otherwise you will be prone to having your cakes crumble in the skillet. These things are just delicious, especially served with ketchup, vegetables, and brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I made these just as the recipe stated and they were yummmmmy!! The flavor was excellent, the cakes held together nicely and they were toasty brown and looked as good as they tasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Followed recipe as written..maybe I don't get it, but the taste was extremely bland, and cakes were very bready. I used Progresso very fine granuled bread crumbs...that may have the mistake; may come out better using a larger crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I tried this recipe for dinner tonite; while mixing, I found it a little bland. I added garlic powder, seasoned salt and a dash of cayenne. It was a little dry while making the patties, so next time I will add a little mayo and the juice form the salmon to help bind it while frying. After all of that, they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Excellent with my leftover grilled salmon from last night! had to use sweet onion vs. green onion, drizzled a bit more lemon juice while cooking and made up a batch of pampered Chef's dill dip that was PEREFECT with this! had sliced tomatoes and frsh cooked green beans with galic to make a perfect hot summer night dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
These are delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Very good, especially topped with a lemon basil aioli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iwashmycar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. There is at least three times too much bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
No angry faces, please. Yeah, I changed; but wanna keep this (GH) recipe, meaning the one following, as a reference: Salmon; 3 slices bread, almost minced; 3eggs, 1/2t salt; 1/4t pepper; 1/4t dill.Next time, will add green onions, more dill (increase to 1/2t), one less piece bread, maybe one less egg, too (meaning using 2). It's a decent fast dinner - especially if that's all there is. Gonna try with tuna sometime. 2/13 12oz tuna, 1/4t + 1/8t dill, 2eggs, green onions, 3 endpieces bread (thin). Too much dill for tuna. Even with less, think I'll pass. Almost liked it with salmon. :/ :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Very Good! Just added a few extra seasonings for favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States