Easy Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
WARNING...WARNING...WARNING... The 1/2 cup of oil is listed at the very bottom of the recipe along with the glaze ingredients. I didn't see it until it was too late (In the future I will remember to read the directions THOROUGHLY). It's currently in the oven. Smells great but... WARNING UPDATE... The cake was done 10 minutes early. It tasted perfectly wonderful even without the oil. I'm guessing the normal product had a heavier consistency. So, I guess I saved some calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
This recipe has been around forever and my family has been enjoying it for many years. It is the BEST and easiest you will ever find. I recommend leaving the cake to slightly cool in the pan, then pricking it with a fork and pouring the glaze over it while still in the pan. You will have to be patient as the glaze slowly absorbs into the cake but it will make for the most delectable treat when it is all done. Let it cool completely after the glaze has been poured over, run a butter knife around the edges and invert onto a doily covered plate. Sprinkle generously with powdered sugar and the savor the moistest, incredibly buttery sweet, scrumptious rum cake on the planet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This is the same recipe my aunt gave me, but the cooking directions are different. Try boiling all glaze ingredients for a minute...then pour the hot glaze over the cake when it comes out of the oven (go slowly). Allow to cool for 30 minutes, and then turn onto serving plate. Every time I make this cake, it's gone in no time! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This is an excellent cake I've followed just the recipe and it was great. I've also adapted it somewhat and it came out great by adding crushed pineapple and substituting coconut milk for the water. I also sprinkled pecans and coconut on the bottom instead of walnuts. The cake reminded you of a pina colada got many many reviews at work for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is now my signature dessert. since I'm a college student, I use a regular cake pan or make cupcakes. I use butterscotch pudding, yellow cake (although the funfetti is neat too) and a cup of Captain Morgan (instead of 1/2 c water and 1/2 c rum). Instead of a glaze, grab a jar of caramel-butterscotch ice cream topping (room temp) and pours a bit on the top of the batter in the pan. Then, take a knife and drag it around the pan to make a tasty caramel swirl in the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Great rum cake & very easy... I always use Meyers Rum in my cakes for a great rum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Very good recipe!! When I first tasted this cake at a friend's, I had thought the rum taste was too strong. When I made the glaze, I added most of the rum with the butter and sugar, and then added the rest after I had boiled it for the 5 minutes. The glaze still tasted like rum, but it didn't have the strong alcohol flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I made this recipe for my husband's birthday. I added powdered sugar to the icing to thicken it up. Also used chocolate fudge cake mix. My mother and father-in-law called me 3x after the event to rave about the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
We all enjoyed this cake. The top becomes slightly crispy, the nuts caramelize, and the glad is not overpowering. Suggestions: Burn off the alcohol in the glad by lighting with a long lighter. The first time I tried this, it tasted of alcohol so badly, none could eat it. Also, this baked perfectly (golden brown) in only 40 minutes, not a full 60 minutes. I also used a butter pecan cake mix the second time and it was worlds better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dixon, Missouri, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
My mom has been making this cake since the 60's. It gets rave reviews every time she makes it! I made it for my boss's birthday today and there's not a crumb left. This is one of the best cake recipes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States