Easy Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
VERY good cake. I used Captain Morgan rum only because that's all I had on hand. I also used rum extract in the glaze so the kids could eat the cake - a little goes a long way with rum extract. I made this cake for Thanksgiving and will make one tomorrow for Christmas. Delish in the morning with coffee too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!! This is so good! I didn't have walnuts so I used pecans instead and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Oh WOW. My first rum cake. I made it as written with no changes (except I don't have a bundt pan, but will definitely get one now!!) This is wonderful!! It seems a very versatile recipe, so I'm sure I'll experiment with other cake mix/pudding/rum flavors, even though this is incredible as is!! Deliciously decadent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This turned out really delicious. It lasted 2 days in my house. The only change that I would make is to add more of the glaze, but that is my personal taste. My sister thought it was perfect just how it was, and said "why mess with a good thing?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by Nicole Hosang
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This is one of the best cakes I ever had. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Hosang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I don't usually like rum cake because it's too soggy but my bf does so I had him score this recipe. It's very moist, amazingly so. It doesn't have that coffee cake texture that crumbles apart when you cut it so I was impressed by that. It didn't get too soggy, although I used only half the glaze. It also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by Violet
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made this cake on Saturday thinking I could take most of it to a Father's Day celebration on Sunday. No such luck! My husband ate half the cake in 1 day. I gave a slice to a friend and to my mom. They both left me phone messages about how delicious the cake was. An extremely easy recipe that turns out very moist and flavorful!!! I left the cake to cool in the pan then poked holes in it and poured the glaze over it to absorb while still in the pan. Also, I found no need to burn off the alcohol as other reviewers suggested. The flavoring was perfect. It is rum cake and should taste rummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Yum! I made this for my husband's birthday. It seemed like a good choice because he is not much of a cake fan, but he does love rum. The recipe is perfect as it is written - the only change I made was to use spiced rum instead of dark. It gets even better and more moist after it sits a few days, if you can make it last that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
AMAZING!!! Wow, just throw some powdered sugar on top, and you've got yourself a treat that looks like it took hours! This cake is ridiculously easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
It's not bad for a quick cake, but a little too much rum for my liking. If you're looking for something that's got a strong rum flavor, then this is your cake. If you've got some time on your hands try a different, more from scratch recipe. Also, I opted for a different frosting- chocolate, which was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States