Easy Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Delicious! I used butter cake mix and added 1 tsp vanilla to the glaze, other than that I followed exactly. I'm making in mini bundt pans for Christmas gifts and I know my family will go crazy over these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This cake really was very easy to make and it turned out super delicious. The only change I made was that I used Lemon Supreme cake mix. I'll be making it again for sure. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Everyone loves this rum cake when I make it. I only use Spiced rum in the cake and in the sause on top. I've also found that when I wait for the cake the cool before I poke holes in it with my fork and pour the sauce on it, it doesn't like the absorb the sauce easily. It just ends up pooling in the center and I use half the sauce that way leaving on the very top and center tasting of rum at all. When I poke holes and pour the sauce right out of the oven it tastes amazing and comes out perfect everytime. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Funk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made this recipe for the first time this weekend and made 24 mini bundt cakes out of it. I made a couple small changes. I baked my minis at 300 degrees for about 15 minutes. In the cake, I used milk instead of water and I used Capt Morgan rum in the cake and glaze. The first batch, I cooked off the alcohol for 5 minutes and after they cooled, I could barely taste the rum. So, the second time I did exactly as the recipe stated and there was a great rum flavor, it wasn't too strong either. Some of the glaze sat on the bottom of my cakes, so I turned them upside down for a little bit, so they would dry. I was putting them in holiday bags and didn't want them to be too sticky. I did have a lot of glaze left over, which was probably because I made mini cakes instead of one big cake. The cakes had great flavor and were very moist. They are definitely better a day or two later. This will be a recipe I use every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
My family has been making this cake for years and years. We've been telling people it's a secret family recipe, but now that I found it online.... the secret is out ofthe bag! It's EXCELLENT. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
My family came to visit and six people finished the cake in one day. Had to make another one for the next day. Fantastic and always enjoyed by all. I put some batter into the pan then put nuts on top of the batter. I find that the nuts burn when they are on the bottom of the pan. I tried to make a different version with Coconut rum and mix shredded coconut into the batter. WOW! it was great. I have also used ground almonds instead of the walnuts and it still is wonderful. It is hard to mess up this receipe. I will make it for all my dinners and nobody complains but raves everytime. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I made this for a bake sale at work today, and people loved it! I used a golden butter recipe cake mix, fat free/sugar free pudding and light rum, because that's what I had on hand. It was still great. I used a combination of walnuts, macadamia nuts and almonds and that was a delicious variation for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I do a lot of baking, and have knocked myself out with complicated recipes but this is the one my non-dessert-loving boyfriend asks for all the time - and could polish off by himself! I just made it as cupcakes with just a slight alteration to cooking time (just under 30 mins), a dollop of buttercream icing with a touch of rum over the rum glaze (so it can soak in) and then a sprinkle of the crumbly walnuts. This is a fantastic, super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
One word: DEVINE. I used what I had on hand: pecans instead of walnuts, butter recipe yellow cake mix, and Captain instead of Meyer's, and it was so easy and so good. I do have a trick when its time to butter and flour the pan: I use real butter and WHITE SUGAR to "flour" the pan instead of flour. This creates a wonderful crispy sweet shiny glaze on the outside of the cake. A neighbor even stopped by to ask what I was baking because it smelled so good! I leveled the bottom of the cake with a knife and poured the glaze onto the exposed part while it was still warm. Leveling off the top makes a more even cake when it's inverted, and the glaze soaks into the cake very well this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emerald Lotus

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States