Easy Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This cake was SO easy to whip up, and the walnut glaze just gives it a beautiful, almost professional looking finish! Thank you so much for sharing- this was a HUGE hit. P.s. the cake finished baking in 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rima

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Absolutely incredible! Took some advice and poked small holes all over the cake before pouring on the glaze. It just soaked it up and was so moist! Best rum cake I've had and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafmomof4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Flipping Fantastic!!! Truth? I made this cake because my 4-year-old son was watching "Bee Movie" and Rum Cake is offered to Barry the Bee. This was a very moist cake but I did only bake it for 40-50 minutes, and made half the glaze (made with rum flavoring) and added it after cooling the cake for a few minutes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Love this! I've made it both with and without the rum and it's so good! Not quite as dense as a poundcake and really moist. Came out great in a 9x13 and also as cupcakes. If you do cupcakes, fill a little less than halfway so it doesn't bake up beyond the edge. Then the glaze will soak in and not run over. Some of my cupcakes were too high so I used a turkey baster with an injector tip to get glaze into the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Another winner! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is fantastic! Make sure you poke LOTS of holes in the cake and take the time to get all of the glaze soaked in. The longer it sits the better it is so make it in advance if possible....however, not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My husband loves rum cake. I had made other rum cakes in the past and none was better than this one!! It is better when aged on 2nd or 3rd day. I will definitely make this cake again. I followed the recommendations of other reviews and used chopped pecans instead of walnut. I used 1/2 white rum and 1/2 Malibu rum. I did not have trouble with runny glaze but I allowed the glaze to cook for more than 5 min till it firmed up a bit but not till soft ball stage. I was afraid of too strong of alcohol flavor that I pour about 1/4 cup of rum into the glaze and let it cook for 10 seconds, then I took it off the stove and pour the rest of the rum into the glaze. I poke holes with a wooden chopstick to make the holes larger. I used a tablespoon to slowly pour the syrup into the holes and around the edges of the bundt pan. I let the cake rest in the bundt pan overnight and flipped it over the next morning. It was delicious!! Thank you Mariann for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bestdumplings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This recipe is so good and so easy to make...our family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiningstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Browns Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Excellent! Easy recipe to make and delicious. I followed exactly and am glad I didn't add any additional rum because the taste is pretty strong. My son didn't care for it but that's ok, more for Mommy and Daddy. The icing is a little tricky, had to make it twice to get it to come out correctly--stir at a slow boil for 5 minutes...not a second more! Very good, I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I have been making this recipe for several years but with a lower calorie swap that does not affect its popularity: use equal amount of nonfat yogurt instead of oil in batter, use eggbeaters instead of eggs. Every little bit... also, I pour the glaze on as soon as it comes out of the oven & allow cake to cool completely before turning out onto a plate. I also add a cup of water-soaked raisins with the nuts for extra punch if I have some. Never fails to be a hit or to disappear at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States