Easy Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I lived in the Cayman Island for many years. My cake was very close if not the same like the famous Cayman Tortuga Rum Cake. I made some changes to the cake and it turned out great, moist, delicious, yummy and my entire family and co- workers crave for more. CHANGES: I use 3 full eggs and 1 egg white, I used Duncan Hines cake mix, sugar free Vanilla Pudding Mix, I added 1/4 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup cold buttermilk and omit the water, 1/2 stick smart balance butter, 2 1/2 teaspoon McCormick vanilla butter nut extract (this extract takes away the box cake taste and leave a buttery nutty taste), I sifted the cake mix with the vanilla pudding mix, I use an electric mixer and mix the eggs and butter together. I use 3/4 cup barcardi gold rum in the cake batter. For the Glaze > I use 3/4 cup of Bacardi gold and myers rum together, use only 2 tsp water and make the sugar melt to liquid then add butter and then rum mix, remove cake when slightly cool, remove from pan then put about 4 tablespoon of glaze in the bottom of the pan, then put the cake back in the pan. Put small holes in the cake and use the glaze as hot as possible on the cake, when cake is fully cool then wrap cake in cling wrap air tight then foil wrap, let sit for few days to age. I also did Chocolate Rum Cake with same adjustments but use Myers Dark Rum. I added 1 & 3/4 tablespoon unsweeted cocoa powder to the batter mix with sugar free chocolate pudding mix. The cake was not sweet because the of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
My husband loves this cake. It's easy to make and delicious. I make mini bundt cakes and they are perfect for gifts during the holidays. You will love this cake. Make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was an easy recipe to do, however the batter needs to rest overnight for the rum to flavor the cake. I refrigerated the batter and the next day baked it off and the cake came out good and the flavor of the rum was in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This recipe was delicious!! I didn't have the vanilla pudding mix so I used pistachio flavor instead and it gave it a nice hit of green color and outstanding taste! I will make this many more times to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook4fam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I've been making this cake for several years now and I am rating it 5 stars as written. It's always a hit in my house! I usually use Appleton Rum that I've purchased in the Carribean or at the Duty Free store while visiting Canada. A couple of other fun twists are to change the pudding flavor, to whatever you might dare to try. Chocolate pudding is good in it, and another of our favorites is to use bananna pudding and a coconut falvored rum! That one gives it a slightly tropical flavor. Love this recipe! It's super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
It's so easy and taste so good. I tried it with the glaze and I prefer it without and just as it. I found the glaze too sweet, but I don't like things too sweet. The glaze does keep the cake moist. The cake gets better if it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Very easy yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Very nice - everyone loved it! I ran out of rum, so I used 1/4c rum in the cake and 1/4c of mirin. I also only had lemon pudding mix. I thought my aunts would find the rum flavor too strong, so I used lemon juice in the sauce. It turned out to be a very successful lemon/rum cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Dangerously delicious!! Super moist. Follow the directions and make NO changes. This is what you call perfection. *I used malibu coconut rum. YUM! Oh one slight change i will make next time...top the batter with the walnuts instead of sprinkling on the bottom just because i think it will look prettier. i photographed the top of my cake because it looked nicer but walnuts were on the bottom. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
by far the easiest cake i have made...use Capt. Morgan's spiced rum.....ummmmm and toasted my English walnuts. Baked in said time and i added a t. of rum flavoring in my glaze with all the listed ingredients.....EVERYONE wants the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States