Easy Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
There are very few cakes that are so easy, tasty and a crowd pleaser that doesn't take scads of time and effort. Haven't had a failure. Mucho thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I used Coconut flavored Malibu instead of dark rum and it was the best thing I've ever baked, I couldn't stop eating this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Super easy cake to make. I used light rum and it turned out so moist and delicious. I also used butter instead of oil in the batter and it was divine. I took it to a camping party and it was devoured in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIGOLD1199

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
OMG! Awesome!!!! A huge hit with the guests but even more importantly, with me! This is exactly what I've been craving for 2+ years. By the way, kisses to the person who suggested using bannana pudding instead of vanilla -- AWESOME! And go for the xtra expense of pecans -- of so good! I added my to the batter, as well. PERFECT PERFECT PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anna aguila
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Super delish and easy recipe, though I made some adjustments because I didn't have all the proper tools/ingredients. I'm in very humid weather and maybe this had something to do with how liquidy the batter was. Or maybe it was the eggs. I used 4 eggs and only did 3 oz (less than half a cup) of dark rum, and veggie oil. As suggested in an another review, I substituted the water with coconut milk (for both the batter and glaze), using 3 oz as well. The package of instant vanilla pudding was also less than 3.5 oz. I only had a small glass casserole dish and baked it for only about 30 minutes. I omitted the nuts. For the glaze, I used coconut milk and put a dash of water in, and used more than half a cup of sugar, as it got too liquidy after adding the rum. THE CAKE TURNED OUT DELICIOUS and I'm convinced it's hard to mess up this recipe. It allows room for modifications. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlmondJoy
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
It takes less than 5 minutes to mix together and throw it in the oven. Accidentally, I used instant strawberry pudding mix, but the outcome was fantastic! I added a dash of cinnamon to the top of the cake because I (correctly) assumed that the combination of rum, strawberry and cinnamon would be to die for. After 35 minutes (I did a 1/2 portion of the recipe), take it out and let it cool. Then add the all-important glaze which makes this simple cake so decadent and scrumptious. How could anyone complain? It's the perfect recipe to throw together when you've forgotten to make that dessert you promised to make for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlmondJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This recipe is good as is, but it is GREAT with a couple small changes. I use a larger box of pudding mix, omit the water and add about 3/4 cup sour cream you can also either up your rum (in cake) by just a little or the oil. Makes for a super moist (and rich!) cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
If the rum in the glaze is too "alcoholic", try boiling the rum and water for several minutes until the alcohol evaporates away, then add the sugar and butter. I almost always use Banana Instant Pudding (or use some banana liqueur in place of the rum). This is a classic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe to a tee the first time around and liked it overall, but after trying it a second time with a few alterations to the glaze, it was MAGNIFICENT! I increased the water to 1/4 cup and increased the rum to 1/3 cup to make it a little stronger and more "liquidy". I poked the cake all over (many times) with a wooden skewer, then VERY SLOWLY poured the glaze over the top and sides. Whatever glaze ended up on the bottom of the dish, I took a turkey baster and kept sucking it up and re-pouring over the top of the cake. I did this until no glaze was left over. THIS MADE A MAJOR DIFFERENCE - the cake was much more flavorful and moist. It was a hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Easy to make. Cooked in a bundt pan about 45 min not 60 as listed in directions. Was not as moist or flavorful as I would wish, if I was to make again I would use a flavored cake mix instead maybe a butter pecan as some one else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States