Easy Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Diane Cullum
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
My teenage daughter asked me to make Rum cake just a few days after I saved this recipe on Allrecipes. I hadn't even mentioned it! My children made this cake today and WOW, is it ever good! They had only one small change (out of necessity). Since we didn't have dark rum, pineapple rum was used in its place. I helped them at the end and followed a couple of other reviewer's tips. We poked holes in the cake while still in the pan and poured the glaze over it while hot. After it cooled a while, I tipped it out of the pan and onto a plate and sprinkled with powdered sugar. All the glaze had soaked into the cake which made it super moist and delicious! I have to admit, my expectations were not high for this recipe and I was very pleasantly surprised at how yummy it is. We'll have to make it again when we are expecting guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe and produces a cake superior to Tortuga. That being said, it's also extremely versatile! I substituted coconut rum to the dark rum, pineapple juce for the water and pineapple jello for the pudding and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Guyton Mace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I got this recipe from a cooking magazine 20 yrs ago. I still make this every single Christmas. It is TO DIE FOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
My Husband has been making this cake for over twenty years, mostly for Christmas. He has a large list of people who want this cake, love this cake. He always takes them to our bank people. Sometimes when he goes to the bank a newer employee will say "Oh, your the cake man". Good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I have been making this Rum Cake for years! Instead of walnuts, I use pecans. makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Yesterday, I had a request by co-workers for a rum cake. I had my reservations, being that this called for a box mix. Well, I'm SO glad I went ahead and chose this recipe! I have never tasted rum cake, much less made it. I have to say that this cake is SUPER moist, very dense and oh so RUMMY! I accidentally used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. Now that I think of it, it's probably better to use pecans. That way, you don't get the bitter peel flavor that you sometimes get with walnuts. Also, I only had Caribean Rum on hand. I don't think it made a difference. I will definitely be making it again! I'm thinking in muffin tins with the pecans sprinkled across the top and the glaze oozing down over the paper cup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PicoChick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pico Rivera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this for the first time today and it was a hit. I made just a couple changes but mostly stuck to the recipe. I made the cake exactly as written. I was afraid I would taste too much rum so I mixed all of the glaze ingredients together and boiled it for about 3 or 4 minutes. When the cake was done I used a basting brush and brushed on 1/2 the glaze while the cake was still in the pan. I then removed the cake and brushed the rest of the glaze on the top. It was perfect. Everyone loved it! Definitely a keeper. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I didn'y care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe. Don't be afraid to add a little more rum when making the batter or the glaze. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Extremely simple and inexpensive, yet tastes as if it was a lengthy process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States