Easy Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
My Husband has been making this cake for over twenty years, mostly for Christmas. He has a large list of people who want this cake, love this cake. He always takes them to our bank people. Sometimes when he goes to the bank a newer employee will say "Oh, your the cake man". Good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I have been making this Rum Cake for years! Instead of walnuts, I use pecans. makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Yesterday, I had a request by co-workers for a rum cake. I had my reservations, being that this called for a box mix. Well, I'm SO glad I went ahead and chose this recipe! I have never tasted rum cake, much less made it. I have to say that this cake is SUPER moist, very dense and oh so RUMMY! I accidentally used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. Now that I think of it, it's probably better to use pecans. That way, you don't get the bitter peel flavor that you sometimes get with walnuts. Also, I only had Caribean Rum on hand. I don't think it made a difference. I will definitely be making it again! I'm thinking in muffin tins with the pecans sprinkled across the top and the glaze oozing down over the paper cup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PicoChick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pico Rivera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this for the first time today and it was a hit. I made just a couple changes but mostly stuck to the recipe. I made the cake exactly as written. I was afraid I would taste too much rum so I mixed all of the glaze ingredients together and boiled it for about 3 or 4 minutes. When the cake was done I used a basting brush and brushed on 1/2 the glaze while the cake was still in the pan. I then removed the cake and brushed the rest of the glaze on the top. It was perfect. Everyone loved it! Definitely a keeper. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I didn'y care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe. Don't be afraid to add a little more rum when making the batter or the glaze. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Extremely simple and inexpensive, yet tastes as if it was a lengthy process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
easy to make and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rumrunner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Simple and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is the 2nd time I make this cake for my Christmas Eve party. It gets rave reviews. It does have alot of rum flavor, so if you don't like it tasting like its namesake, then use another recipe. Dont worry about the batter being thick, it will work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States