Easy Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I have made this cake many times now and it's always a hit! No one ever believes it came from a mix & it's become a regular request from friends & family. I do take the cake out of the pan & pour in a bit of the rum mixture so the cake can 'marinate' in it before I skewer it & pour the rest on top. Very yummy & moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this for our Christmas Eve gathering. I used coconut rum as I had no other. I did double the glaze recipe and was glad that i had. Yumm yumm yummy. Definitely a keeper that I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Amazing cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I just use the cake mix with the pudding in it, be careful with sampling the batter, to me it is quite potent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Love it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
My teenage daughter asked me to make Rum cake just a few days after I saved this recipe on Allrecipes. I hadn't even mentioned it! My children made this cake today and WOW, is it ever good! They had only one small change (out of necessity). Since we didn't have dark rum, pineapple rum was used in its place. I helped them at the end and followed a couple of other reviewer's tips. We poked holes in the cake while still in the pan and poured the glaze over it while hot. After it cooled a while, I tipped it out of the pan and onto a plate and sprinkled with powdered sugar. All the glaze had soaked into the cake which made it super moist and delicious! I have to admit, my expectations were not high for this recipe and I was very pleasantly surprised at how yummy it is. We'll have to make it again when we are expecting guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe and produces a cake superior to Tortuga. That being said, it's also extremely versatile! I substituted coconut rum to the dark rum, pineapple juce for the water and pineapple jello for the pudding and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I got this recipe from a cooking magazine 20 yrs ago. I still make this every single Christmas. It is TO DIE FOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
My Husband has been making this cake for over twenty years, mostly for Christmas. He has a large list of people who want this cake, love this cake. He always takes them to our bank people. Sometimes when he goes to the bank a newer employee will say "Oh, your the cake man". Good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States