Easy Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Yum! I made this for my husband's birthday. It seemed like a good choice because he is not much of a cake fan, but he does love rum. The recipe is perfect as it is written - the only change I made was to use spiced rum instead of dark. It gets even better and more moist after it sits a few days, if you can make it last that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
AMAZING!!! Wow, just throw some powdered sugar on top, and you've got yourself a treat that looks like it took hours! This cake is ridiculously easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
It's not bad for a quick cake, but a little too much rum for my liking. If you're looking for something that's got a strong rum flavor, then this is your cake. If you've got some time on your hands try a different, more from scratch recipe. Also, I opted for a different frosting- chocolate, which was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Yasi
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Wonderful cake. Used "butter recipe white" mix as that's what I had, and sprinkled chopped unsalted pecans in the center. I'll do that again, but will sprinkle some cinnamon sugar over the nuts before topping with the rest of the batter. Also poured half the glaze over the bottom of the cake to soak, then flipped it onto a plate and topped with the rest. It was thoroughly soaked...next time I'll just pour it on top since the bottom half was really overwhelmingly strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Absolutely fabulous! It tastes wonderful and is so quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
We loved the cake, very easy to make!!!Though some said that it was a bit strong and others said it was just right, I think it depends on the person!!My husband and I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Excellent recipe, I folded in 1 cup of fresh pineapple to the cake mix and 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut and 1/3 cup rum to the glaze. It is killer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Very tasty and easy. I added a pinch of cinnamon to the batter since I thought this would be a good compliment to the spiced rum I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Next time I will check it at 55 minutes. It seemed a bit overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
We all enjoyed this cake. The top becomes slightly crispy, the nuts caramelize, and the glad is not overpowering. Suggestions: Burn off the alcohol in the glad by lighting with a long lighter. The first time I tried this, it tasted of alcohol so badly, none could eat it. Also, this baked perfectly (golden brown) in only 40 minutes, not a full 60 minutes. I also used a butter pecan cake mix the second time and it was worlds better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dixon, Missouri, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States