Easy Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Easy & delicious! Can definitely make some swaps (i.e. nuts, cake flavor, rum choice), but it's just what the doctor ordered to bring some Caribbean into this New England winter weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Used a sugar free cake mix and it still tasted great! New Year's Eve and there was no store open, so I used a sugar free yellow cake mix from Betty Crocker. The cake was still moist and delicious. I did aerate the cake with a fork before pouring the glaze. But next time I may try what some other reviews suggested....may try to pour glaze in the upside down pan while cake is still warm and see if more soaks in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Mays

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made 10 of these this season to give as Christmas gifts! They were loved and gobbled by all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made this with a red velvet cake mix. AMAZING....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is the one thing that I make that my grandmother approves! Instead of dark rum, I used flavored rum. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I could only find a cake mix that was 16.25 oz instead of 18.25. I added a little more than 1/4 cup of flour and 2 Tablespoons of sugar and left out one egg to balance it out. The cake was great, but I which I'd poked it more and let more of the glaze seep in. The glaze was really good, but didn't penetrate the cake enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Great recipe. The one thing I change is to use a nice Amaretto liqueur instead of just rum. This takes the cake to a new level! This is my "go-to" dessert for adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shirley Morris
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is a great recipe, I love it! I hadn't had a good rum cake in a while and i'm not going to no other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I omitted the nuts and opted for coconut instead (I added 1/2 cup of processed sweetened flaked coconut in the batter). I also brushed the cooled imbibed cake with a little more simple syrup and pressed in more sweetened flaked coconut (toasted) on the top. This tasted very similar to the Tortuga rum cake my niece brought back for me from Jamaica. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Yes its so good. Moist with a strong rum flavor witch I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States