Easy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
It's an ok recipe. I prefer hummus to have more flavor and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I didn't have tahini so I toasted some sesame seeds and crushed between two spoons. I also added a little olive oil to make it smoother as my sister had said she didn't like the texture. I had her try it and she ate most of it! Guess we fixed the 'texture' issue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Good recipe, although next time I will use only half of the lemon juice. The lemon taste overpowered everything. I added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper because we like it a bit spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hothilary36
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Hummus is one of those things you can change and play with and it becomes your own. I like this version except I had to play with it. Do not use basil, use paprika and cumin which is traditional to hummus. I love love the red peppers. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This has waaaaay too much lemon in it. I actually reduced it to 1/4 of a cup and the lemon was still over powering. It was also gritty, so I added olive oil until it was smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used white beans instead of garbanzos because it was what I had on hand and it tasted wonderful, although I added more spices to taste (Penzey's Turkish Seasoning) and less lemon juice (2 Tbsp). Even in the blender it was smooth and had a lovely sweet and garlicky taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is really good but definitely needed an extra punch to it for me & my husband. We like spicy. First time I made it I added red pepper flakes, cayenne, 3 cloves of garlic and a dash of hot sauce. YUM..second time I added a fresh diced jalapeno, double YUM! it's a very good base recipe to add what you want to it. Next time I will try adding a bit of cumin and maybe cilantro?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I am sure this could be better with a bit more spice as I found it a little bland. **TIP** peel the skins off your garbanzos for a better texture, it really should state that in the recipe. I added more basil than called for but it could use some more zing. Overall, easy to make (just wish I had a food processor, all I have is a stick blender and it was a bit of a pain) and a perfect afternoon treat with homemade tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This came out quite well. I used dried beans that I had previously cooked and frozen, so I found it necessary to add salt. I added black pepper just for kicks :-) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was WAAAY too much tahini for me, and I think I'll also reduce the lemon juice. I used (and liked) 1 T. of tahini. I tried 1/4 c. lemon juice, but I think that's still too much. Also needed to add 1/2 t. salt after rinsing the beans. Might try roasting the garlic next time. This recipe gave me a base to start working from, but I will definitely continue to tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States