Easy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
After reading the other reviews, I tweaked the recipe a bit. I started with 2 cups dried beans which I cooked and drained. I used 3 large cloves of garlic and 2 tbsp. of lemon juice. I used 2 red peppers which I roasted and peeled. I added 1 tsp. of salt and 3 tbsp. of olive oil and omitted the dried basil and tahini (I don't even know what tahini is). The humus turned out very good. I will be making all my own humus from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
It's an ok recipe. I prefer hummus to have more flavor and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I didn't have tahini so I toasted some sesame seeds and crushed between two spoons. I also added a little olive oil to make it smoother as my sister had said she didn't like the texture. I had her try it and she ate most of it! Guess we fixed the 'texture' issue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Good recipe, although next time I will use only half of the lemon juice. The lemon taste overpowered everything. I added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper because we like it a bit spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hothilary36
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Hummus is one of those things you can change and play with and it becomes your own. I like this version except I had to play with it. Do not use basil, use paprika and cumin which is traditional to hummus. I love love the red peppers. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This has waaaaay too much lemon in it. I actually reduced it to 1/4 of a cup and the lemon was still over powering. It was also gritty, so I added olive oil until it was smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used white beans instead of garbanzos because it was what I had on hand and it tasted wonderful, although I added more spices to taste (Penzey's Turkish Seasoning) and less lemon juice (2 Tbsp). Even in the blender it was smooth and had a lovely sweet and garlicky taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is really good but definitely needed an extra punch to it for me & my husband. We like spicy. First time I made it I added red pepper flakes, cayenne, 3 cloves of garlic and a dash of hot sauce. YUM..second time I added a fresh diced jalapeno, double YUM! it's a very good base recipe to add what you want to it. Next time I will try adding a bit of cumin and maybe cilantro?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I am sure this could be better with a bit more spice as I found it a little bland. **TIP** peel the skins off your garbanzos for a better texture, it really should state that in the recipe. I added more basil than called for but it could use some more zing. Overall, easy to make (just wish I had a food processor, all I have is a stick blender and it was a bit of a pain) and a perfect afternoon treat with homemade tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This came out quite well. I used dried beans that I had previously cooked and frozen, so I found it necessary to add salt. I added black pepper just for kicks :-) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States