Easy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I doubled this, and served to guests who really enjoyed it. We all agreed that it needed less pepper, but tasted great regardless. I used Jarred roasted red peppers that were in garlic oil, so I drained as much oil as I could. The only change I made was cutting the lemon juice in half. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
It's good but it needs something. I added olive oil like someone suggested and cumin but it's still lacking flavor. I didn't add the basil. I also added salt. I don't think I would add the olive oil next time. The olive oil overpowers the delicate taste of the hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I had to modify this a bit and it turned out very well. I felt the lemon flavor was over powering so I added more beans and peppers. I didn't have tahini but didn't miss it so I wont bother to get it for next time I make this. My only suggestion would be to cut down on the lemon and it will be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Way too garlicky, and too much lemon and I didn't even put in 1/3 cup. I would cut the garlic by 1/2 and cut down further on lemon juice... not a fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
If I am roasting the peppers in the oven(as opposed to store bought), I add the garlic as well so it gets a sweeter flavor. Also, I use fresh parsley in place of the basil. I add the tahini slowly and taste at intervals as sometimes I feel it overpowers the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I LOVED this. First time making hummus ever and man was it a BIG hit!!! My boyfriend bugs me to make it again. Definitely way better to refrigerate over night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I know hummus is traditionally made with tahini butter but it honestly tastes just as good if you substitute it with extra virgin olive oil. I use this recipe time and time again! It goes perfect with pita chips, crackers, or as a dip for raw vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Yummy. Added about 1/2 tablespoon cayenne, an extra garlic clove and used jalapeno salt in place of regular. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was so good. I didn't have the tahini, however, I was going to the Asian store and got a huge bag of sesame seeds which I use all the time. I roasted 1/2 cup of them in a dry stainless steel skillet and put them in the food processor by themselves for a minute or two before I added the other ingredients. The consistency was a little coarser, but it had a fresher taste and was a little more cost effective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidbaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I modified this. I did not use basil. I added 1/2 Tsp. of ground cumin and 1/4 tsp. cayanne pepper and 1/4 tsp. salt. I only used 2 T lemon juice, and 1 T tahini, and 1 T olive oil....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritakay8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States