Easy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
The raw garlic was too overwhelming. Next time I will try garlic salt. I added some EVO too change the consistency as I found it too grainy. I added a bit more roasted peppers and 1/2 teaspoon each of cumin and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Elder Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trumansburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I substituted 1/3 c olive oil &1 tbsp cumin for the tahini and added another can of beans. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This recipe has way too much lemon juice and tahini in it! Be sure to taste as you go before it's too late..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is my go-to hummus recipe and I make this often. My only change is to leave out the basil. It is fantastic with pretzel crisps or veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This was a good base. Four stars because it was fabulous with a few changes. used 1/4c tahini 1/4c lemon juice 1 whole head of roasted garlic instead of the raw cloves 1 roasted red pepper 1 roasted pablano pepper (because we like a little heat) and then drizzled olive oil thru the chute until the consistency was as we liked it. It was very dry without the oil probably because I cut down on the tahini and lemon juice. I did "peel" the chickpeas. I did use salt and pepper for some added interest. when my 14 yo boy tasted it he asked "is that all you made?" LOL! Anyway start with this recipe, it is solid and then adjust as you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I really liked the recipe, but will definitely cut the lemon juice down a lot next time. It has a lemony aftertaste that I could do without. I doubled the recipe and peeled the garbanzo beans [same as chick peas]. I added more basil and more red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I usually make hummus on the fly without a recipe and it turns out differently every time, so I thought I would search for a good recipe. This one got so many great reviews and I was excited to try it. Not sure what happened with mine, but I did not like this at all. WAY too much lemon juice (and I even put in less than the 1/3 of a cup).......tasted like raw garlic....and needed salt! I didn't eat the first batch. Tried it again with sauteed garlic, the juice from 1 lemon (about 2 Tblsp), and a pinch of salt. So much better. But I can't give a recipe more than 1 or 2 stars if I had to make major changes to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I made it exactly as written, and it was good. Next time I will cut the lemon juice to 2Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great recipe. I roasted my own red peppers (2 of them) and used them. (@425; rotating so all sides are roasted and skin is peeling and browned)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Holy tahini! That's all I could taste. Too much lemon too. Will not be making this again. I feel like the ingredients were right, but the portions were very wrong! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddcrowley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monmouth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States