Easy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Excellent recipe. I hesitated to purchase the huge jar of tahini at $5+, but now have confidence that it will get used up just from this recipe alone. I only added about 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice, and it's perfect. By the way, garbanzo beans and chickpeas are the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
This is awesome!! It gets better after sitting in the fridge. I attempted hummus one other time with a yucky mess...this is THE recipe for great hummus. It's basic, quick, and very flavorful. While my kids (2yrs & 5yrs) thought it was too garlicky, I thought it was exactly right (it also mellows a little after a day or two)Also, I don't buy tahini (since I can never find small amounts) I just toasted sesame seeds until fragrant (not browned) and whipped them into a paste with 1 tsp. oil and used that for my recipe. This will be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
This was wonderful! Made a few small changes though: only added 1 clove of garlic, reduced lemon juice to 2 tablespoons, subbed in 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil for the tahini (I had none), and used chickpeas in place of the garbonzo beans. After that there was no reason to season with salt and pepper because it was perfect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker-@-Heart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I was unsure about red peppers in hummus, normally a favorite sammie filling for me, but I gathered up my courage and dumped them in anyway and am I glad! My children ate this up, my eight yo said she likes it better than our usual recipe and my toddler decided to forego the pita bread altogether and just eat the hummus with a spoon! I put it in sammies with kalamata olives, chopped fresh red pepper, chopped cucumber, feta cheese with lemon juice, olive oil and balsamic vinegar sprinkled on top. One problem with the instructions: the intro says bring to room temp before serving but the directions say to chill until ready to serve. Maybe you are supposed to keep your house very cold? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This is a nice recipe although I would cut down on the amount of tahini; I found that it had a little bitter after taste that wasn't exactly what I was aiming for. It was well received by the adults at the party but virtually every kid turned their nose up (as kids are apt to do!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I usually prefer my hummus to be more grainy, and I'd never had it with roasted red peppers before, but I was in the mood for something different. Well, I'm glad that this was the recipe I picked! It was very good with home-baked pita chips. I only had Realemon juice on hand, so I cut down on the listed amount and it was fine. For sure something I would make for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIERRAMUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
This is by far the best hummus recipie I have made (and believe me I have tried a lot). It even tastes great without the red pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
i made this hummus as a class project for a 6th grade class and it ws gone after 10 minutes!! this is kid friendly and adult friendly. Everyone should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Very tangy and yummy! I made the hummus in my blender and it worked very well. Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
This recipe really was easy. I am making it again for my christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States