Easy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used white beans instead of garbanzos because it was what I had on hand and it tasted wonderful, although I added more spices to taste (Penzey's Turkish Seasoning) and less lemon juice (2 Tbsp). Even in the blender it was smooth and had a lovely sweet and garlicky taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is really good but definitely needed an extra punch to it for me & my husband. We like spicy. First time I made it I added red pepper flakes, cayenne, 3 cloves of garlic and a dash of hot sauce. YUM..second time I added a fresh diced jalapeno, double YUM! it's a very good base recipe to add what you want to it. Next time I will try adding a bit of cumin and maybe cilantro?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I am sure this could be better with a bit more spice as I found it a little bland. **TIP** peel the skins off your garbanzos for a better texture, it really should state that in the recipe. I added more basil than called for but it could use some more zing. Overall, easy to make (just wish I had a food processor, all I have is a stick blender and it was a bit of a pain) and a perfect afternoon treat with homemade tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This came out quite well. I used dried beans that I had previously cooked and frozen, so I found it necessary to add salt. I added black pepper just for kicks :-) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was WAAAY too much tahini for me, and I think I'll also reduce the lemon juice. I used (and liked) 1 T. of tahini. I tried 1/4 c. lemon juice, but I think that's still too much. Also needed to add 1/2 t. salt after rinsing the beans. Might try roasting the garlic next time. This recipe gave me a base to start working from, but I will definitely continue to tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This is fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I replaced the basil with cilantro and used olive oil instead of tahini. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is very tasty. I think it could use a bit more salt than I used. I forgot to add the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This was sooo easy and the flavor right out of the food processor was amazing! This one will have many happy returns at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaneeramsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
i didn't have any tahini in the house, though i quite like someone's idea of making their own. will try this. roasted my cloves of garlic first, used fresh basil... delicious even without the tahini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsagie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States