Easy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I doubled this, and served to guests who really enjoyed it. We all agreed that it needed less pepper, but tasted great regardless. I used Jarred roasted red peppers that were in garlic oil, so I drained as much oil as I could. The only change I made was cutting the lemon juice in half. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
It's good but it needs something. I added olive oil like someone suggested and cumin but it's still lacking flavor. I didn't add the basil. I also added salt. I don't think I would add the olive oil next time. The olive oil overpowers the delicate taste of the hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I had to modify this a bit and it turned out very well. I felt the lemon flavor was over powering so I added more beans and peppers. I didn't have tahini but didn't miss it so I wont bother to get it for next time I make this. My only suggestion would be to cut down on the lemon and it will be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Way too garlicky, and too much lemon and I didn't even put in 1/3 cup. I would cut the garlic by 1/2 and cut down further on lemon juice... not a fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
If I am roasting the peppers in the oven(as opposed to store bought), I add the garlic as well so it gets a sweeter flavor. Also, I use fresh parsley in place of the basil. I add the tahini slowly and taste at intervals as sometimes I feel it overpowers the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I LOVED this. First time making hummus ever and man was it a BIG hit!!! My boyfriend bugs me to make it again. Definitely way better to refrigerate over night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I know hummus is traditionally made with tahini butter but it honestly tastes just as good if you substitute it with extra virgin olive oil. I use this recipe time and time again! It goes perfect with pita chips, crackers, or as a dip for raw vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Yummy. Added about 1/2 tablespoon cayenne, an extra garlic clove and used jalapeno salt in place of regular. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was so good. I didn't have the tahini, however, I was going to the Asian store and got a huge bag of sesame seeds which I use all the time. I roasted 1/2 cup of them in a dry stainless steel skillet and put them in the food processor by themselves for a minute or two before I added the other ingredients. The consistency was a little coarser, but it had a fresher taste and was a little more cost effective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidbaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I modified this. I did not use basil. I added 1/2 Tsp. of ground cumin and 1/4 tsp. cayanne pepper and 1/4 tsp. salt. I only used 2 T lemon juice, and 1 T tahini, and 1 T olive oil....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritakay8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States