Easy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I used the foundation of this recipe (garlic, beans, tahini, lemon) and omitted the red pepper in place of 1 can of artichoke hearts and 8-10 ounces cooked/drained frozen spinach to make spinach-artichoke hummus. It was a huge hit! I also used minced garlic and garlic powder instead and added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Excellent and easy hummus recipe. I have to say though that when I first made it, it tasted bitter. Once I refrigerated it overnight, the bitterness was gone and it was delicious. I made it exactly according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Oh yum! This is so much better (and cheaper) than store bought hummus. I only used 1 clove of garlic (which was plenty, and I'm a garlic lover) and omitted the basil. Didn't bother to measure out the lemon juice, I just squeezed in half a large lemon. I also didn't have tahini, so I threw in a couple tablespoons of olive oil instead to make it creamy. Worked out great. Oh and its so easy to roast your own peppers instead of buying them jarred. Just cut them in half and broil for about 8 min, set in a paper bag for 25 min, then peel off the skin. Delish. I used one pepper for this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Wow! What a great overall taste. The only change I would make is to use one clove of garlic next time. And I too removed the skin off the beans by rubbing them, so the creaminess really stood out. I'll make this again and again. Wish I could freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Providence, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Easy to make and delicious. Everyone who tried it commented on it. I just put everything in the food processor and pulsed a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Yummy! Next time I will roast the red pepper myself. Its too expensive to buy by the jar. I will definitly make this for my next party. The easiest dip I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Diaz
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
it wasnt the best hummus i've ever tasted, but it was pretty good. a little too much tahini, and it definately needed cumin. i could barely notice the roasted red pepper, so i would suggest using a little bit more pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
my favourite type of humus is easy to make! yahoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This recipe is perfect just the way it is. It leaves a slight garlic taste in your mouth after the matter, but who doesn't like garlic. I doubled the recipe and followed it to a T - I thought it was great....tasted like the stuff you get at Sam's club. But since it was just me and my boyfriend, I ended up adding crushed red pepper since I like everything with a little BANG. Either way, the recipe is delicious without any additions and would be great for a party. By the way, this was my first time making hummus (just got a new food processor) and I will NEVER buy it from the store again...what I made for about 5 bucks worth of ingredients would have cost me over 20 at the store!! Thanks again for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This recipe is very easy and so good!! It turned out great the first time I made it. Next time I make it, I am going to use a little less fresh lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States