Easy Roast Leg of Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jude
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Easy and Yum! It yields a delicious base for a mediterranean-style sauce. I also added some extra water, one medium onion cut into eighths, and one small seeded squash cut into 1 1/2 inch slices to the bottom of the pot. The last of my flowerbox rosemary added a flavorful touch. Fabulous results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I was skeptical of adding the tomato paste but it gave it a great flavor, color and texture. I found the cooking time to be spot on, give or take 5 minutes. Will definitely make this a staple of my cooking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
PLEASE CHECK THE REVIEWS BEFORE YOU MAKE THIS! The cooking time is WAY off but the flavor is great. I started this around 2 p.m., did an hour at 375 and about an hour to an hour and a half at 325. I let the roast rest covered in the warm oven while the rest of the meal cooked and served dinner by 5 p.m. I skimmed off most of the fat and made a sauce from the tomatoes, used canned diced tomatoes. A delicious and really special main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Very tasty; used a quart of my own home-canned tomato sauce, which condensed on the roasting pan to make a very nice reduction with the drippings from the lamb. Agree with others who say that it took considerably longer than advertised to roast (2.5 hours sounds about right).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob McMillin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was a wonderful, basic kind of recipe, just waiting for our own taste to be added. For those commenting previously.... as stated before by many others, you should always use a meat thermometer when roasting any meat. (however, I do understand that time is of essence when it comes to serving dinner on time) Ovens vary tremendously. My own oven can vary from day to day, depending on so many things. Kind of cooking vessel, thickness of meat, added ingredients. One recipe needs less time than stated, others need more. Some people said this recipe lacked flavour. Well, use more salt. If you use too little salt you'll not have the flavour you're looking for. Use more garlic. More pepper. Personally I swiped my finger across the meat half way through cooking and tasted it. I found it needed more salt, so at that point added more. Thank you for this recipe. I'd never thought of adding tomato sauce to roast lamb, but it sure gave the meat a new dimension and a great sauce. Oh, I'm editing to add that a good practice when using slivers of garlic is to sprinkle a little salt in the slits before pushing the garlic in. The flavour of the salt will not only be on the outside of the meat, but the inside as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHSUZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
made this for work and they said they liked it. It was an easy recipe but took longer to cook than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I thought it was good, but my husband thought it made it taste more like beef than lamb, so if you're looking for a nice Lamb-y flavor, this is not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Chatham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Once the lamb was cooked, it was great, but there is something very wrong with either the oven temperature or the cooking time listed. Cooked at 375 degrees for 45 minutes and then after 15 minutes at 325, the internal temp of the meat was only about 120 degrees. It took about an hour and 15 minutes at 325 before the lamb reached 150 degrees. At that point I sliced and microwaved to proper doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jolieny
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Roasting time way offff . I had it in the oven for 1 hour 425 and 30 min 400 came out medium rare . It was great coze i like med rare ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolieny

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States