Easy Rich Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
An excellent recipe!! I took it to a church potluck and they scraped the pan! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
First of all, it was way to sweet. I used the half of the suger in the cream cheese mixture but still it was way too sweet. Secondly, it was very sticky and just really heavy. The the "dough" created by the chocolate cake mix was really hard so that it was almost like a dry brownie. I cannot believe that this is the 5 star recipe. I will never make this again but I would use only ONE cup of suger in the cream cheese mixture but use two eggs in the cake mix instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I can't imagine what I did differently from the other reviewers, but I was not impressed with the filling of this cake. I normally love cream cheese filling, but this turned out runny and WAY TOO SWEET. The cake base/pastry is wonderful, I would concoct a different filling, one more in line with a cheese cake filling that is not so runny and not so sweet. This smelled much better than it tasted, in my experience with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOJAGRAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
i took this cake to my husbands office. They want it now at least two times a month. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaby Richmond-Reck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Everyone in my husband's office raved about this recipe. I wouldn't know--they didn't leave any for me!! Must be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2000
This is a very rich delicious chocolate cake. We eat it with ice cream and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2000
My husband loved it!! Really easy and good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Richton, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Yes, it was a simple recipe but I agree with some of the other reviewers-this cake is not all that amazing to me. Way too sweet and maybe the cream cheese mixture is supposed to be runny and sweet but I didn't care for it. I'll make a few adjustments and try again, but I was over all disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
just made it, it is very very sweet, but the kids love it. To be honest i will not make this again. I rate this a one for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States