Easy Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Honestly, this doesn't even deserve one star. Let me tell you why. So, after reading other reviews I decided to cut back on the sugar too. But I only added 2 1/2 cups of sugar to 5 heaping cups of rhubard. Just so I could add more sugar as I wanted. Once it was all cooked down, I tasted it to see it to see if I wanted more sugar. It was so sweet I couldn't even eat it, it made my teeth hurt. And it still called for mooorrreee sugar. So I went to the store and got five more stalks of rhubarb, added that, and added the zest of a lemon and lemon juice. I didn't even add the jello for fear of how much sweeter it would be. It is still so sweet no one will eat it. If you actually made the recipe like it called for, I can't even imagine. I am going to try and use all the 'jam' I made as a glaze on meat. Move on, do not make this unless you like your jam pure sugar with no rhubarb flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I love the flavor and ease of this jam, but it was way too sweet for me. I cut the sugar in half and only used 1 3oz. pkg. of strawberry jello and 1 envelope of Knox unflavored gelatin. I also added 1 quart cut fresh strawberries and cooked it just a few minutes longer (for the berries). With added fruit it yeilded 8 - 8oz jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
We have fixed the amount of rhubarb in this recipe. It should be 5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
The first batch I made - came out very sugary. Checked the reviews and found out that the volume of chopped rhubarb changed from 1 cup to 5 cups. So, made it again. What a difference! Turned out great. Used crushed raspberries instead of pineapple. Worked great. Let it set - since it doesn't have pectin, it takes longer to gel. But, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I MAKE MANY JARS FOR MY FAMILY. FOR A CHANGE TRY USING RASPBERRY GELATIN AND INSTEAD OF THE PINEAPPLE USE FRESH OR FROZEN THAWED RASPBERRIES. ALSO CAN DO THE SAME WITH BLACKBERRIES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fancy
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I used two packages of knox gelatin (be sure to soften in water before adding to hot mixture)and one of strawberry jello. This is by far the best recipe for Rhubarb Jam, yet so simple to make. Try adding some walnuts too! Ohhhh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
I love this recipe!! This was the first time I've ever made jam and it came out perfect. I had to use strawberries instead of pineapple though. Also, I used two tsp. of gelatin and the consistency turned out great! A new favorite in my house! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Have used froze rhubarb also. And I keep my jam frozen until wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
What an easy jam recipe!!This is very tasty.Will make it again.Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe for a quick jam. I've always known this as "Sunshine Jam" when my mom made it when I was growing up. I love this on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States