Easy Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This recipe should call for 10 cups of rhubarb and 2 cups of sugars. Even 2 cups is too sweet for us. I would start with 1 cup and work my way up if you don't like that real sweet taste. As written I would not give it any stars. There is another recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I have been making this recipe for at least 15 years with a few twists! Like, let it sit with the ingredients except for the jello for 30 minutes and boil for 12 minutes then add the jello and jar. Place it in the jars and when cool I have just kept it in the frig and I have frozen it. Either seemed to work ok. Lois
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I substituted frozen strawberries for the pineapple and it has a nice flavor. I also reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups. Good, fast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by three-peas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Holy Cow can you say sweet. Following this recipe the jam is honestly too sweet to eat. I think it's using the strawberry gelatin because people that used Knox instead of flavored gelatin seemed to like the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
We love this recipe - I made this last year for family, friends, gifts, and for us. Received great comments from all and requests for the recipe. My dad and nephew are continually wanting to trade their empty jelly jars for a new full one. I too have substituted 1 cup frozen, unsweetened fruit (to match whatever jello I'm using) for pineapple for variations. Thank you - I'll be using this as my standard rhubarb & fruit recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Vile. Real rhubarb jam and jelly doesn't involve crushed pineapple and strawberry jello to mar the taste of the rhubarb. A friend of mine made this and we tossed it. Made a real jam from scratch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was simple, quick and delicous. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lian W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This jam is an old family favorite! My mom always made it with rhubarb from the garden. It is sweet, but I was expecting it to be because I had it so many times before. VERY easy and yummy! You can substitute different flavors of jello and add different fruits too for variety (for example I might cut back on the rhubarb and add strawberries or raspberries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is the jam that one of my grandmothers used to make when I was little. She called it Rhubarb-Pineapple jam but it was the same as this. I was so happy to find this recipe. I've never made jam before so this was my first try. So far it tastes great, but it doesn't seem to be as good as my Grandma's...might just be in my head though. Anyway, I didn't use as much sugar as was called for and I switched most of it for Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe for a quick jam. I've always known this as "Sunshine Jam" when my mom made it when I was growing up. I love this on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States