Easy Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Yes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bertha Gutierrez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Omg, One of my favorite cakes is red velvet cake but when I'm busy doing other things I have to eat the storebought dessert version. So now that I know a quicker way to make it life has been more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This cake was soooo DRY! It tasted very good, but even with cooking it less than the suggested time it turned out very dry. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I tried this cake, with all of the substitutions suggested by the user wilddaycare which included adding 1 cup of sour cream, 3 eggs, 1/2 cup of water, 1/3 cup of veg oil, 1tsp of vanilla flavor, and I used 1/2 bottle of red food coloring and it was the perfect tint. I give the cake 3 stars because based on the revisions I made, the cake was very, very moist and good, however, it tasted NOTHING like a red velvet cake. I honestly don't think it would have been anything compared to this without the revisions. My husband said it tasted like a chocolate cake that so happen to be red lol. The texture of the cake was different. I will try the recipe again, but will try other substitutions suggested by other users such as using buttermilk instead of water, possibly adding coa coa and a little vinegar. Oh I made cream cheese frosting fro scratch so this made the cake even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I read all the reviews for this cake and decided to try it. I made on exactly like it said then i continued on n tried what others suggested which made my family very happy cause they got their favorite cake over n over. Everyones turned out great i even adde cherry juice n chunks of cherries in the batter we loved it. So to the person who wrote it down thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I'm sorry to say I didn't try the original recipe. I used the adjustments that wilddaycare suggested. It won a taste test over the old Betty Crocker recipe with 8 testers ages 54 to 2yrs old:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather
Home Town: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elverson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very moist although it lacked cocoa flavor so i added a tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I tried the Recipe yesterday, and added 1.5 tsp of Vanilla flavoring and made 24 small fabulous cupcakes, I used a cream cheese icing, and shaved white chocolate over them... tasted really good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Blessedandhighlyfavored A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
My family loved this cake. It disappeared in two days. This one is a keeper for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I followed the recipe. It was perfect, simple but moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States