Easy Red Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Read the other reviews and added a little more flavor w/garlic, cumin and jalapenos, and used vegtable broth. A note to Newbie- I hope you know that chicken broth isn't vegetarian! You said your picky veg daughter liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Although I like spicy, my husband and son are more bland types, so this recipe was perfect! It's a great way to use up extra tomatoes, and you can always spice it up if you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious!! I made it as a side dish to a venison roast. I made a few changes. I used a garlic oil I had on hand and added some frozen chopped spinach to it while cooking. I also used brown rice which required some extra water while cooking and took about twice as long to cook. My 3 yr old and 5 yr old really enjoyed it, especially the 3 yr old who came back for a heaping seconds! Thanks! I will be keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
My husband loved this rice dish. It was super easy to make. I used a couple of leaves of fresh basil instead of dried. It worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Perfecto! This is very similar to a rice dish that I make regularly. It's delicious! I find that it lends itself to easy and quick variations and is a fabulous side. So easy to adapt to various tastes! I use half brown and half white rice, I do add a bit more chicken broth then and cook a tad longer - Exellent recipe, Easy on time, easy to put together and easy on the budget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for - something with a little more pizazz than just plain rice, but not something too bold when I already had a rather spicy meat I wanted this to accompany. This had the interest and character I was looking for, the perfect foil for the star of the show which was "Cajun Barbecued Chicken," also from this site. Aside from preparing this with the more standard ratio of 2:1 broth to rice, I prepared this as written and couldn't have been more pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Loved this! Made it with tomatoes from a local farm, served with tenderloin. I think this may be really good as a the rice for a stuffed pepper?? May try that next time. Thumbs up from my picky vegetarian daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Great with my spicy chicken enchiladas, I paired this with a spinach/tomato salad topped with guacamole sauce. Easy and great tasting. A family favorite. Thanks, Magpie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this with the basil and garlic chicken recipe for my parents. It was delicious they loved it! At first I thought there were way too many tomatoes but it turned out perfect. Easy, quick and delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Hi, Di :) Wow! Believe me, it's not often I get something I made called "bland," lol. That's OK; I'll admit, this rice recipe doesn't have a great deal of "kick" on its own; it's not supposed to. Then again, a lot of the meats I serve tend to have a lot of herbal-spicy goodliness going on in them and in order to not overpower my guests, I serve this as a counterpoint. Absolutely, there are times I also add a bit of dried red pepper flakes or even lots of roasted garlic to this recipe -- but it's flexible that way. Thanks for your review :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Magpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Callaway, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States