Easy Red Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This rice was not great. It was definitly lacking in flavour and needed something to give it a kick. I will try it again, but will add some spices like garlic, flaked peppers or chili flakes to give it a kick. Otherwise it is pretty boring and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Hi, Di :) Wow! Believe me, it's not often I get something I made called "bland," lol. That's OK; I'll admit, this rice recipe doesn't have a great deal of "kick" on its own; it's not supposed to. Then again, a lot of the meats I serve tend to have a lot of herbal-spicy goodliness going on in them and in order to not overpower my guests, I serve this as a counterpoint. Absolutely, there are times I also add a bit of dried red pepper flakes or even lots of roasted garlic to this recipe -- but it's flexible that way. Thanks for your review :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Magpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Callaway, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Although I like spicy, my husband and son are more bland types, so this recipe was perfect! It's a great way to use up extra tomatoes, and you can always spice it up if you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Great with my spicy chicken enchiladas, I paired this with a spinach/tomato salad topped with guacamole sauce. Easy and great tasting. A family favorite. Thanks, Magpie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this with the basil and garlic chicken recipe for my parents. It was delicious they loved it! At first I thought there were way too many tomatoes but it turned out perfect. Easy, quick and delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Loved this! Made it with tomatoes from a local farm, served with tenderloin. I think this may be really good as a the rice for a stuffed pepper?? May try that next time. Thumbs up from my picky vegetarian daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious!! I made it as a side dish to a venison roast. I made a few changes. I used a garlic oil I had on hand and added some frozen chopped spinach to it while cooking. I also used brown rice which required some extra water while cooking and took about twice as long to cook. My 3 yr old and 5 yr old really enjoyed it, especially the 3 yr old who came back for a heaping seconds! Thanks! I will be keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Read the other reviews and added a little more flavor w/garlic, cumin and jalapenos, and used vegtable broth. A note to Newbie- I hope you know that chicken broth isn't vegetarian! You said your picky veg daughter liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Perfecto! This is very similar to a rice dish that I make regularly. It's delicious! I find that it lends itself to easy and quick variations and is a fabulous side. So easy to adapt to various tastes! I use half brown and half white rice, I do add a bit more chicken broth then and cook a tad longer - Exellent recipe, Easy on time, easy to put together and easy on the budget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
My husband loved this rice dish. It was super easy to make. I used a couple of leaves of fresh basil instead of dried. It worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States