Easy Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Adding cumin will greatly enhance the flavor of this hummus. For cooks who prefer a creamier texture, pour the garbonzo beans into a large bowl of water, and rub them between your fingers. This peels them of their rough outer skin. Skim the floating skins from the water, and drain the peeled beans, proceed with recipe. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Really great stuff, and super easy. I thought I had tahini at home, but I didn't, so I just threw in some seasame seeds. I added a little more lemon juice because I had extra. I couldn't find canned roasted red peppers, espeiclally in 4 ounce sizes so I just estimated. The hummus smells like salsa, but tastes great. Texture is perfect, as well. Just note that it makes a lot more than you would expect it to make, and hummus can be super filling. The next time I make it, I probably will slice up some of the red pepper to make chunks in it (I know, not much of a hummus that way, but it works).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
THis recipe was very easy to make. I double it, but only used one red pepper and the juice of one lemon. It was a little bland so I added 1/4 tsp of cumin and 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper.I also added about 1/4 cup of fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This was a good base, but I found it a little bit too liquidy. I will make it again, but skip the water next time, there is plenty of water in the red pepper as is :). I added for sund-dried tomato halves for extra flavor (they were packed in oil, so I skipped the oil in the recipe). Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Very good hummus recipe - so many that I've tried are bland and have no flavor. Used another reviewer's suggestion, and used cumin and cayenne pepper to spice it up. Excellent, will most definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
So easy and so delicious! I chopped up the pepper in my mini-chopper and then blended the whole recipe together using my immersion blender...so quick and easy and yummy. I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I thought the recipe was a good base recipe without any flavor. I added 1 tsp. of cumin and a handfull of fresh basil and a little more lemon juice. After the adjustments I think it is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I love this hummus. I make it weekly and I'm very upset when I'm out! It's my "snack" at work and really hits the spot with some celery and carrot sticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sola
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I wasn't totally wowed by this, but I still liked it. I used lemon juice instead of lime, but kept everything else the same. It went over well at a dinner party and it was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This was okay. I didn't add the water as I thought it would be too much liquid. It was fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States