Easy Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is a fantastic and flavorful hummus. My friends and I loved it. I did think it was a bit too liquidy but I might have over blended it in the processor (this was the first time I actually made hummus). I'll watch out for that and maybe skip the water next time. Great overall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBT24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Jarred red peppers is very expensive where i live, so I substituited with 10 dried red chillis and 4 fresh red chillis - deseeded, soaked in hot water for abt 10 mins, and blended (1 used 2 cans of beans). Provided a lovely reddish hue and a mega spice kick! Not for the faint hearted. For dips, I used sliced bread, rolled it flat with a pin, brushed with a mixture of olive oil, salt and pepper - toasted crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Perfect! The only thing I did, like others, was add cumin. I also threw in a clove of garlic instead of garlic powder. It was delicious. This will be a staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Katowice, Silesian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
It gets 4 stars for being healthy- a whole red pepper in the mix... but it's a bit lacking in flavor in my opinion. I made it as written except for using fresh garlic and it was ok, but still a bit boring. Added sun dried tomatoes and a bit more lemon juice (and 3 cloves of garlic), but still wasn't my favorite. I like how healthy it is though- thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I added the cumin and cayenne that other reviewers suggested... excellent! The red pepper does give a lot of water so I will omit the small amount of water added next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I agree with others that adding cumin makes it tastier. Cayenne is a given, at least for my family. BUT, my little secret with any hummus recipe is True Lemon or the Lime. If you taste it and it needs a little more tang, try adding 1-2 packs and it makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I lovvvvvvvvvvved this! I did use the fresh garlic and I think that's what gives it a little more kick. The red pepper made it taste fresh and exciting. I'll definitely make this when I have company. It's so easy! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Bland. Didn't puree smoothly. Will save my time and buy hummus in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I didn't know hummus was so easy to make. My husband and both loved this recipe and I can't wait to try variations of it. I did add some EVOO and an extra garlic clove and it was way better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Wow! This is very good. I had leftover grilled eggplant that I used in place of the red peppers. I also added cayenne and cumin at the suggestion of other reviewers. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States