Easy Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I did not use tahini. I added garlic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Peck
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I really wish I hadn't listened to the comment that said to add cumin, it ruined the hummus taste. But aside from that this is very good. I used real garlic instead, I dont believe in garlic powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Great. Added cumin and cayenne per previous suggestions and only added a small amount of water while processing. Love this and will definitely make it again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasingjoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is a great basic recipe - I also omitted the water, and doubled the chickpeas, olive oil, tahini, and seasonings. the consistency was very good. I will say that it is not as garlicky as we prefer - next time I will use at least a clove of fresh garlic, instead of the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was super easy and was well received at a party I took it to. I did sub 1 1/2 tsp of sesame oil as I can't find tahini in my grocery store. I served it w/ home made pita wedges and fresh veggies. I found I DID need the water to coax my blender into blending everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is a fantastic and flavorful hummus. My friends and I loved it. I did think it was a bit too liquidy but I might have over blended it in the processor (this was the first time I actually made hummus). I'll watch out for that and maybe skip the water next time. Great overall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBT24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Jarred red peppers is very expensive where i live, so I substituited with 10 dried red chillis and 4 fresh red chillis - deseeded, soaked in hot water for abt 10 mins, and blended (1 used 2 cans of beans). Provided a lovely reddish hue and a mega spice kick! Not for the faint hearted. For dips, I used sliced bread, rolled it flat with a pin, brushed with a mixture of olive oil, salt and pepper - toasted crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Perfect! The only thing I did, like others, was add cumin. I also threw in a clove of garlic instead of garlic powder. It was delicious. This will be a staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Katowice, Silesian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
It gets 4 stars for being healthy- a whole red pepper in the mix... but it's a bit lacking in flavor in my opinion. I made it as written except for using fresh garlic and it was ok, but still a bit boring. Added sun dried tomatoes and a bit more lemon juice (and 3 cloves of garlic), but still wasn't my favorite. I like how healthy it is though- thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I added the cumin and cayenne that other reviewers suggested... excellent! The red pepper does give a lot of water so I will omit the small amount of water added next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States