Easy Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I'm glad I used 1/2 a roasted red pepper. I think the more intense flavor of them is better. And I figured it would also make a smoother hummus. But it was still a little too bland for me. Much better after some cumin, cilantro and cayenne pepper were added. I also chose to use fresh garlic. I went with this recipe because I had a lime to use up, but I was surprised to see that lime flavor didn't really come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Yummy. Added roasted red peppers & cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I am not a fan of hummus or garbanzo beans, but tried this while on a "Daniel fast," just hoping to find something interesting for my husband and I to try. My friends and family enjoyed it so much, I make this often. It's wonderful, even when made with an instant dry hummus mix. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I took the advice of other posters and added cumin and cayenne pepper to give it more punch. Nice texture and good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
It tasted okay. I thought the recipe was better without the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keanu
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I did not use tahini. I added garlic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I really wish I hadn't listened to the comment that said to add cumin, it ruined the hummus taste. But aside from that this is very good. I used real garlic instead, I dont believe in garlic powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Great. Added cumin and cayenne per previous suggestions and only added a small amount of water while processing. Love this and will definitely make it again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is a great basic recipe - I also omitted the water, and doubled the chickpeas, olive oil, tahini, and seasonings. the consistency was very good. I will say that it is not as garlicky as we prefer - next time I will use at least a clove of fresh garlic, instead of the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was super easy and was well received at a party I took it to. I did sub 1 1/2 tsp of sesame oil as I can't find tahini in my grocery store. I served it w/ home made pita wedges and fresh veggies. I found I DID need the water to coax my blender into blending everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States