Easy Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I used fresh cooked garbanzo beans, 2 Tbl olive olive, 1 fresh clove of garlic, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp turmeric (because it is such a great anti-inflammatory and eliminated the water. I also didn't have tahini so I ground 2 Tbl of sesame seeds and added them. I liked the idea of using a raw red pepper but I'm not sure I like the consistency. I'm sure if I had a better food processor I would have a smoother hummus. I also used lemon instead of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kline Strahosky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Didn't have tahini, so I used other reviewers sesame oil recommendation. Also used another's suggestion about "fingering" off the peels in a bowl of water to get a creamier texture (GREAT tip!!!) used jarred roasted red pepper. Turned out very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Easy, cheap, healthy and delicious! My husband and co-workers went crazy over this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Yummy!!!!! :D I think I added a wee tad more water and a tiny more oil cuz I had a 19oz can of chick peas instead of 16oz.. Also, I didn't add pepper, not feeling the peppery taste lately.. tastes super yummy with wheat thins :D thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This was delicious. I used 1 1/2 T of tahini instead of just 1 T. I put the chickpeas in a bowl of water and rubbed them between my hands to remove all of the shell thingies. I also boiled the canned chickpeas in water for 20 minutes to remove the weird crunchiness that usually comes along with canned chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I made this last night, I think I added too big of a pepper cause mine was more pink. I don't eat hummus but I thought it was pretty good. My husband is the one who eats it and he liked it. I have a question,how long can your keep this in the refrigerator for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Very simple, quick to make and just delicious! I added 1/2 tsp of cumin and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This is awesome and easy to make. One suggestion, do not add the water until the very last. If at all. I must have had an especially juicy pepper because my first try was yummy, but very thin. The next time I made it with no water at all and the consistency was perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
We love this recipe! We make it all of the time and my four year old loves to help make it as we'll as eat it! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
this was so yummy! the way i did it , i roasted 1/2 a red bell pepper, 3 cloves of garlic and 1/4th of an onion, 1/2 a lime juice, 1tsp of olive oil, 1 cup of chickpeas (naturally boiled not from a can)3 Tbs of cilantro 1 Tbs of homemade tahini, a pinch of salt, pepper and paprika and a few Tbs(As needed) of water, put it in the food processor and it was just perfect everyone loved it :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States