Easy Red Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is a great red base pasta sauce.It can have lots of flavor with endless possibilities. I added red and yellow bell peppers ,doubled the garlic,used fresh basil and and 2 oz of tomato sauce. No more store bought sauce for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This has become my go to base for pasta sauce. I use some of the other reviewers suggestions to jazz it up a little bit, like using crushed tomatoes and adding some salt and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Very good sauce! I used a 29 oz can of tomato puree because that was what I had on hand, and threw in a drained 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes as well for a little chunkiness. I also decreased the olive oil to 3 TBSP to reduce the fat and found that to be a good amount. Served with Meatball Nirvana meatballs from this site for a very good supper! I do think if I were serving the sauce plain I would add in some more garden vegetables, but the sauce is very good as written without additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This has become a household favorite. I used fresh basil from my herb garden and it made all the flavors pop. I added a sprinkle of sugar like someone suggested and it brought it all together! Great with parmesan crusted chicken or bruschetta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I have made this with both stewed tomatos and crushed tomatos. It is easier and by far more tasty with crush tomatos. I left out the dried basil and just used all fresh basil and added one small onion. I know some think this is a boring sauce, but it is more authentic than the store bought spaghetti sauce many may be use to eatting. This is an excellent sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Just what i was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ehlers The BEST Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kanab, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this exactly as stated but added green and yellow bell pepper and zucchini. My guest loved it and asked for the recipe. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This sauce is plain, simple, no frills and basic just like it claims. It tasted good, but it just didn't wow me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sg
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was delicious and very easy. I did not run it through a food processor and I used fresh basil rather than dried. It worked very well in my turkey lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is surprisingly tasty for such a simple dish. I did add about 1 tsp pepper flakes instead of a pinch, I also used spaghetti instead of angel hair, it was just fine. I would make again perhaps adding chicken or shrimp would also make it extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Johns Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States