Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
This recipe has quite a good flavor, but I, like Michelle live in Louisiana - and this isn't creole red beans and rice. Like she said, leave out the tomatoes for the traditional version... I added plenty more garlic, a good dose of Tony's (a Louisiana must!), and jalepano-style Tabasco sauce. We like more rice here, as well. Still, this is a good recipe - and a great option when short on time. I'll make it again with the extras :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This recipe is not like a traditional red beans and rice recipe. I was trying to find one and made this. No tomatoes are in real red beans and rice. I live in Louisiana and these were not even close to how they are served down south. They tasted OK, but I was disappointed in the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
YUM. I love this, I skipped the sausage, so I sauted the onion & garlic (two cloves) in a tsp. of olive oil. I also used brown rice, cajun-seasoned diced tomatoes and added about 2 Tbsp. of fresh chopped parsley. Very light & healthy, thanks Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This is a really great receipe for rice and beans! I am a vegetarian, so I cut out the sausage and sauteed in olive oil. I also added 1/8 tspn. of cayenne to spice it up a little. This dish has an excellent flavor and is one of the better receipes for rice and beans I have come across. Highly Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Kind of a funky meal. Except for the sausage, the ingredients didn't have much flavour and created a strange texture. I followed the recipe almost exactly except I used 3 clove of garlic and at the end I combined everything including the rice into one bowl. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I thought this was very good and super easy to make. I did add some cajun seasoning but the spicy cajun sausage I used provided plenty of "kick." We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
WOW, was this good. My husband and I had it for dinner and we both liked it very much. So much so, that we ate it all ourselves. I improvised a little and added one hot green pepper, mushrooms and some extra garlic. It was tasty and had a perfect kick to it. Thanks for the recipe, Paula. I'll be making this again and again. Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I liked this. It might not be "authentic" (I have no idea), but it sure was tasty! I only used one can of beans, 1/2 an onion and I used chicken sausage, because that is what I had. I added some extra garlic, too. I combined it with the rice before serving - it was a really filling, satisfying meal. Served it with Jalapeno Corn Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
i didn't realize how spicy the meat was, i also added rotel maters with chiles and pepper sauce and plenty of black pepper. waaay tooo hot for me...i ate the rice and beans dang good i tried the sausage and snorted fire. wife said the was spicy,but not considered hot. my moose added more hot sauce. they liked it...i'm a wuss...red beans and rice was real good with the maters...that sausage lawdy mercy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This was so easy to make and delicious!! I used fat free smoked turkey sausage, a little parsley, and a couple of bay leaves. My 15 year old raved about it. I will definitely add this to my list to family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States