Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
It was ok. I ended up adding some flour (mixed in water) to the sausage mixture because it was too juicy. I agree with other reviewers, it tasted kind of flat and bland, even with all the good stuff in it. I think next time I will use seasoned rice. It's pretty healthy and quick so I will probably make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Great recipe. I substituted the sausage with chicken and it tasted great! Also threw in some hot sauce into the mix to spice it up a notch... BAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I am giving this 5 stars even though I tweaked it a bit. I used 1/2 bag of dried black beans (soaked cooked of course) because my family does not like red beans. I used a can of crushed tomatoes because I didn't want to do any chopping. At a friend's suggestion, I used a pack of Carolina Saffron yellow rice mix with seasonings found in the grocery store rice aisle. One packet was barely enough for my family of 4 so you may need to use 2 (it cost 75 cents!). My entire family LOVED this meal. We are from PA and don't care if it's authentic or not. It was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Delicious!!! I used Italian sausage instead of Kielbasa and Zatarans Creole Seasoning instead of salt. I also cooked the entire meal, minus the rice, in my slow cooker. Came out very savory. Thank you for this awesome recipe. Great work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
As is, this recipe is a three star, in my opinion. The second time I made it, I made a few changes, and it was amazing. Once I took out the tomatoes, and added a lot of cajun seasoning, this was awesome. This will be added into my regular rotation with the changes I mentioned. If my boyfriend hadn't insisted on trying it again, without the tomato, I probably never would have bothered with it. I'm glad he pushed me to make the necessary changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Simple and good. I added hot sauce in my bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
So good! Even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Super easy and tasty! Instead of the onion and bell pepper, just used a frozen bag of mirepoix mix from Kroger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jog4donuts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
OMG this was so yummy, tasty and easy. I believe it will go on company rotation!! Thanks for posting such an awesome recipe. I did tweak it. I used Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. and instead of oregano used 2 tsp of italian seasoning. It really took the flavor to a whole new level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was a really great recipe. It's easy to make and it tastes great. I added some hot sauce because we like some heat in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States