Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
This recipe has quite a good flavor, but I, like Michelle live in Louisiana - and this isn't creole red beans and rice. Like she said, leave out the tomatoes for the traditional version... I added plenty more garlic, a good dose of Tony's (a Louisiana must!), and jalepano-style Tabasco sauce. We like more rice here, as well. Still, this is a good recipe - and a great option when short on time. I'll make it again with the extras :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This recipe is not like a traditional red beans and rice recipe. I was trying to find one and made this. No tomatoes are in real red beans and rice. I live in Louisiana and these were not even close to how they are served down south. They tasted OK, but I was disappointed in the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
YUM. I love this, I skipped the sausage, so I sauted the onion & garlic (two cloves) in a tsp. of olive oil. I also used brown rice, cajun-seasoned diced tomatoes and added about 2 Tbsp. of fresh chopped parsley. Very light & healthy, thanks Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This is a really great receipe for rice and beans! I am a vegetarian, so I cut out the sausage and sauteed in olive oil. I also added 1/8 tspn. of cayenne to spice it up a little. This dish has an excellent flavor and is one of the better receipes for rice and beans I have come across. Highly Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Kind of a funky meal. Except for the sausage, the ingredients didn't have much flavour and created a strange texture. I followed the recipe almost exactly except I used 3 clove of garlic and at the end I combined everything including the rice into one bowl. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I thought this was very good and super easy to make. I did add some cajun seasoning but the spicy cajun sausage I used provided plenty of "kick." We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
WOW, was this good. My husband and I had it for dinner and we both liked it very much. So much so, that we ate it all ourselves. I improvised a little and added one hot green pepper, mushrooms and some extra garlic. It was tasty and had a perfect kick to it. Thanks for the recipe, Paula. I'll be making this again and again. Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I liked this. It might not be "authentic" (I have no idea), but it sure was tasty! I only used one can of beans, 1/2 an onion and I used chicken sausage, because that is what I had. I added some extra garlic, too. I combined it with the rice before serving - it was a really filling, satisfying meal. Served it with Jalapeno Corn Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
i didn't realize how spicy the meat was, i also added rotel maters with chiles and pepper sauce and plenty of black pepper. waaay tooo hot for me...i ate the rice and beans dang good i tried the sausage and snorted fire. wife said the was spicy,but not considered hot. my moose added more hot sauce. they liked it...i'm a wuss...red beans and rice was real good with the maters...that sausage lawdy mercy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This was so easy to make and delicious!! I used fat free smoked turkey sausage, a little parsley, and a couple of bay leaves. My 15 year old raved about it. I will definitely add this to my list to family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States