Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This isn't bad for a quick fix meal, but as a previous reviewer stated, the flavors don't really meld together as I imagined they would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I like this recipe and have made it several times. Instead of kielbasa I use smoked sausage and brown the sausage along with the onion, peppers, and garlic. I also use Penzey's Spices Cajun Seasoning to give it additional heat and a stronger flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
i didn't realize how spicy the meat was, i also added rotel maters with chiles and pepper sauce and plenty of black pepper. waaay tooo hot for me...i ate the rice and beans dang good i tried the sausage and snorted fire. wife said the was spicy,but not considered hot. my moose added more hot sauce. they liked it...i'm a wuss...red beans and rice was real good with the maters...that sausage lawdy mercy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I cook most Sundays and this recipe got the most compliments. I used a can of dark red kidney beans and a can of light red. The different textures were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was delicious, although I did add some paprika and cumin, as I thought some of the spices were lacking. Really easy and highly suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious, the table was silent because everyone was shoveling food into their mouths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
My family really loves this recipe. It's also quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Easy and quick to cook (made exactly as written). Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
omg... loved it! i didnt even have the beans, kielbasa, or onions. so i improvised and used a lot more garlic and some chicken. i also added some pasta sauce and chicken broth. everything was so savory delicious. make the rice with more salt and a touch of butter to make things extra YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I decided to cook this dish AFTER seeing the word "easy" and AFTER reading the most helpful reviews. So I knew going in that this wouldn't be like authentic red beans and rice and I knew that I would have to spice it up a bit. With that being said, I gave this 5-stars because it's a great base recipe and it's truly very easy, which is much appreciated when you have a big family to feed. Plus, this kind of reminds me of chili, which is a dish you have to make your own. If you like to spice up foods and add your own touch then this might be a good dish for you. The changes I made were: I used smoked beef sausage and drained the fat before adding the green peppers, onions and garlic, I used canned red beans because that's what I had in my pantry, and I added a couple of sprinkles of hot sauce, cajun seasoning, and cumin. My family loved it! Even hubby liked it and he's quite the "food critic". Thanks for this stress-free, family-filling and frugal recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States