Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Pretty good. I used spicy pork sausage because I am not a big fan of turkey kielbasa, also left out the green pepper. It wasn't quite spicy enough for me so I added quite a bit of cayenne. This is an easy dish to whip up over the weekend and then take the leftovers for lunch during week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
DELICIOUS! Even picky teen liked it! Left out meat for vegetarian son, followed recommendations for extra garlic & 1 stalk of celery. I used 1/4 onion because thats what I had on hand. Sauteed veggies in olive oil but I didn't have any peppers. I used a can of Italian diced tomatoes & 1 tsp Cajun seasoning (some family members don't like spicey). I didn't realize I was supposed to drain the beans so I washed them & replaced the can water with chicken broth (don't tell my vegetarian son!). Gently crushed some of the beans to thicken up the sauce & it turned out perfectly, not too watery at all! We will definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is a tasty recipe; however, I agree with the reviewers who say it's not really red beans and rice. There is no gravy, it needs more beans, etc. BUT, if you look at it as a Cajun or Creole dish, it is good. The title is just misleading. It needs more liquid and more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made this last night in anticipation of Fat Tuesday. I understand that this is not a totally traditional red beans and rice recipe, so I did not expect totally authentic RB&R. That being said, I made this dish as written, but using andouille sausage and adding two chopped stalks of celery with the onions and about a half cup of chicken broth. With these changes, it was fabulous. Quick and easy for a busy work night meal!! Plenty of seasoning from the andouille, so I didn’t need to add the extra cajun seasoning I had ready. Just a couple of shakes of Tabasco was all it needed. Next time I make this, and there will be a nex time, I will make it the same way I did, but probably add another can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is my first review on AR, and I just felt that this recipe deserved it. My whole family, even kids really loved it. It's fast, easy, and delicious. Thanks so much for sharing. This is going to be in my recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I wanted to try red beans and rice and made this for my husband and a friend (who hates rice). Both loved it! I rather liked it too, and I don't even care for spicy foods. (I added a few shakes of hot sauce and some homemade cajun seasoning blend-hubby likes it hot). I had to omit bell pepper-didn't have any, but I think next time I would like to use red bell pepper. I cut the recipe in half but still used a full can of tomatoes-used fire roasted diced. Also, I cook plain rice in chicken stock, not water, for flavor. Will definitely make this one again and again! This recipe is described as an "easy take on a LA classic." If you're looking to make an easy meal with red beans and rice, TRY THIS: IT'S GOOOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I enjoyed this dish very much. It is lighter and not as heavy as regular red beans and rice which I liked for a change. I used chopped celery and a few extra cloves of garlic just because I had it. I also added in about 1 tbsp. of cajun seasoning. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this dish twice. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and it came out pretty good. My only problem is that it was a bit bland. I don't think there was enough flavor in the turkey Kielbasa I used. The 2nd time I made it I used smoked beef Kielbasa and added one more garlic clove. It was good the fist time, but fantastic the 2nd time. If you don't mind the added calories and fat, use real Kielbasa. You'll love it especially the leftovers. Make a lot, it gets better after a night in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
So delicious and fast! I add 1 celery rib, 1 bay leaf, 1 tablespoon of Cajun seasoning and I double the tomatoes and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
So yummy! Only a few quick little additions. You have to have celery. bay leaves and some Cajun seasoning. Otherwise, this recipe hits the mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States