Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I am giving this 5 stars even though I tweaked it a bit. I used 1/2 bag of dried black beans (soaked cooked of course) because my family does not like red beans. I used a can of crushed tomatoes because I didn't want to do any chopping. At a friend's suggestion, I used a pack of Carolina Saffron yellow rice mix with seasonings found in the grocery store rice aisle. One packet was barely enough for my family of 4 so you may need to use 2 (it cost 75 cents!). My entire family LOVED this meal. We are from PA and don't care if it's authentic or not. It was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Delicious!!! I used Italian sausage instead of Kielbasa and Zatarans Creole Seasoning instead of salt. I also cooked the entire meal, minus the rice, in my slow cooker. Came out very savory. Thank you for this awesome recipe. Great work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
As is, this recipe is a three star, in my opinion. The second time I made it, I made a few changes, and it was amazing. Once I took out the tomatoes, and added a lot of cajun seasoning, this was awesome. This will be added into my regular rotation with the changes I mentioned. If my boyfriend hadn't insisted on trying it again, without the tomato, I probably never would have bothered with it. I'm glad he pushed me to make the necessary changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Simple and good. I added hot sauce in my bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
So good! Even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Super easy and tasty! Instead of the onion and bell pepper, just used a frozen bag of mirepoix mix from Kroger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jog4donuts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
OMG this was so yummy, tasty and easy. I believe it will go on company rotation!! Thanks for posting such an awesome recipe. I did tweak it. I used Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. and instead of oregano used 2 tsp of italian seasoning. It really took the flavor to a whole new level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was a really great recipe. It's easy to make and it tastes great. I added some hot sauce because we like some heat in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I loved this recipe! It definitly wasnt like the traditional red beans and rice but it was really good and it was healtly. I sauted the onions, pepper, garlic and sausage together first and i added and extra can of kidney beans. I also combined the cooked rice at the end and i served it with cornbread. MMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Pretty good. I used spicy pork sausage because I am not a big fan of turkey kielbasa, also left out the green pepper. It wasn't quite spicy enough for me so I added quite a bit of cayenne. This is an easy dish to whip up over the weekend and then take the leftovers for lunch during week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States