Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I just made this recipe and it was so delicious! The only things I did differently were using a can of petite diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes, adding 4 stalks of celery (just because I had some that needed to be used), and I added 1 TBS of Creole seasoning. After I tasted it, I thought it needed a little kick, and that did the trick! Will definitely be making this again and again! Thanks Paula for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbujen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I got a resounding "thumbs up" form all members of the family, including 3 daughters (13 and under) and husband! I'd make twice as much rice as recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I did like some other commenters had done and cut out the tomato from the sauce. I added some jalapeno hot sauce and doubled the amount of rice. It was really great served with a side of sliced fresh tomatoes- I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
LOVED IT! I looked at other reviews before preparation and it did look like this would be bland so I used Zatarain's Creole seasoning like one reviewers mentioned. Don't need to add salt since this seasoning has a lot of salt. I didn't have sausage, so I used beef that I thinly sliced and added diced habanero pepper to spice it up (i love peppery/spicy food). I used dried beans and cooked it in a slow cooker. Omitted the tomatoes. This is a great way to eat beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Yummy! My husband made this for dinner and said it was so easy to make. Even all our kids enjoyed it!! He did say he would add an extra can of beans and even though it's not traditional to have the tomatoes, I like the "healthy factor" they bring. :) We'll keep it for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I enjoyed this, and it was even better the next day for lunch. I did add some thyme as well, but other than that I pretty much stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
We loved loved this recipes! My husband and kids gobbled this up! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
omitted green pepper and oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was good but for my family way too tomato-y. I will cut the tomatoes by half next time and use crushed tomatoes instead of whole. Worked well with turkey kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
It was ok. I ended up adding some flour (mixed in water) to the sausage mixture because it was too juicy. I agree with other reviewers, it tasted kind of flat and bland, even with all the good stuff in it. I think next time I will use seasoned rice. It's pretty healthy and quick so I will probably make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States