Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
The dish was edible, however, I will not be making this again. I kicked it up with the addition of cayenne, but found it to be dry, not very saucy. And I agree with other reviewers that tomatoes seemed out of place. Not impressed what so ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana Beard Pier
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Mmmmmm. Used hot Italian sausage for my meat lover ( I picked out the sausage). Used red pepper and one onion and lots of garlic. After reading reviews decided to go with tomatoes because I love them. Stuck with the 2 cans of beans. Also added a little soffrito (?) that I found in the Goya section of market. Lots of oregano, a little cumin and a bit of cayenne on top of salt and pepper. Covered and cooked for 15 and then a few more minutes uncovered. It was a huge hit. I added avocado to my sausage-less portion and I was so happy. The hubs loved and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
i made this with the lite sausage (turkey, pork,beef combo). Instesd of salt and pepper, I used zatarians creole seasoning. Perfection!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My family LOVED it! I have 10 & 7 year olds so that means something. I made it minus the sausage. And I didn't have green pepper so I added a healthy dash of red pepper powder which gave it a nice little kick. If you want the sauce a bit thicker, mash some of the red beans and add back in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Making this as I type this message... Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
So easy. Family loved it so much they oooddd and aaauuued and applauded. They do that when they enjoy their meal. Cause once I watched a chef cooking show and said no one does that when I make dinner like the audience does. They felt this recipe is well worthy. Easy to make and hummu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is a really good, quick version of the "real" thing. I have family in Louisiana and lived there for a while myself so I know what red beans and rice is. A few things I would suggest doing to give a little more flavor is definitely use andouille sausage instead of just smoked or kielbasa. It's a New Orleans style sausage that has a tiny bit of a kick but not to much. I haven't been able to find it at Wal-Mart but most regular grocery stores carry it. I also added an extra clove of garlic, one can of diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of the whole tomatoes, and two bay leaves while everything is simmering. This is good to eat right away but even better the next day after the leftovers sit all night. Btw, a secret to Cajun cooking is that the cook adds what they like. If they like tomatoes, then they add tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This was inexpensive, but unexpectedly crazy delicious with not a scrap left for lunch. I didn't change a thing- used kielbasa and kept the tomatoes. Try it as is and you won't be sorry. Well, I did change it a wee bit by draining most of the tomato juice before adding them. Seriously, this is gonna become a staple. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
If you double the recipe, make sure you have a massive pan. I followed the recipe exactly as it says, and it was very filling, and very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cantcookworthbeans

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Very tasty, especially when substituting a jar of salsa for the tomatoes. I used a chunky salsa with medium flavor and I think it made the difference--there was nothing bland about the dish. I also added a few stalks of celery and more garlic; used a red pepper instead of green. Served it over brown rice. I also did double the rice; there was more beans/vegetable mix and I think 1 cup of rice won't go as far. Now I have a nice leftover dish for later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEKR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States