Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
So easy. Family loved it so much they oooddd and aaauuued and applauded. They do that when they enjoy their meal. Cause once I watched a chef cooking show and said no one does that when I make dinner like the audience does. They felt this recipe is well worthy. Easy to make and hummu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is a really good, quick version of the "real" thing. I have family in Louisiana and lived there for a while myself so I know what red beans and rice is. A few things I would suggest doing to give a little more flavor is definitely use andouille sausage instead of just smoked or kielbasa. It's a New Orleans style sausage that has a tiny bit of a kick but not to much. I haven't been able to find it at Wal-Mart but most regular grocery stores carry it. I also added an extra clove of garlic, one can of diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of the whole tomatoes, and two bay leaves while everything is simmering. This is good to eat right away but even better the next day after the leftovers sit all night. Btw, a secret to Cajun cooking is that the cook adds what they like. If they like tomatoes, then they add tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This was inexpensive, but unexpectedly crazy delicious with not a scrap left for lunch. I didn't change a thing- used kielbasa and kept the tomatoes. Try it as is and you won't be sorry. Well, I did change it a wee bit by draining most of the tomato juice before adding them. Seriously, this is gonna become a staple. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
If you double the recipe, make sure you have a massive pan. I followed the recipe exactly as it says, and it was very filling, and very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cantcookworthbeans

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Very tasty, especially when substituting a jar of salsa for the tomatoes. I used a chunky salsa with medium flavor and I think it made the difference--there was nothing bland about the dish. I also added a few stalks of celery and more garlic; used a red pepper instead of green. Served it over brown rice. I also did double the rice; there was more beans/vegetable mix and I think 1 cup of rice won't go as far. Now I have a nice leftover dish for later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEKR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Made this tonight with a few changes. I didn't have tomatoes so I used Progresso hearty tomatoe soup. Left out the pepper. More garlic. Emerils bayou seasoning. Left out oregano since soup had seasoning. Added some hot sauce. Moral is it was quick and easy AND my kids ate whole plates of it... That's a winner. For me I would add more seasoning and heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Delicious and just enough spice to be quite tasty w/o any Tabasco. It was a hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
As a new cook, I look for easy recipes, and this looked like (and was) a relatively easy dish to make. I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of chopping whole tomatoes, omitted the green bell pepper (my mom doesn't like them), and added cajun seasoning. It turned out a tasty meal that I will make again! Mom liked to too, so that was a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very tasty! This has become a weekly regular at my house. Makes a filling lunch and a rather simple dinner. Sometimes I skip the sausage and its still very good. I also think it benefits from some celery sauteed with the other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States