Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I recommend that you use a little olive oil (1 tbs). This recipe in my opinion does not need tomatoes and green peppers. Let rice and beans be rice and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I used crumbled spicy sausage instead of the kielbasa and added diced tomatoes with chiles. Both gave it a good flavor. My family loved it and it was great heated up for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
needs a little more kick to be a take on homemade red beans and rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by workncooknwork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This is a nice change from what I usually make for dinner. My little girls love beans, so it wasn't hard to convince them to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This recipe is pretty darned good as is—I make it regularly. The only note I would add is that it needs a LOT of salt and pepper. I usually season, taste, season, taste, and so on . . . many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Makes a lot. Maybe try 1 can red beans, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 green pepper, no onion, 1 kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I can agree this was an easy recipe.I followed the recipe. But it lacked something.I just didnt taste like the red beans and rice with sausage I am used to.So I rated it a 4 instead of five.Maybe I will change the type of sausage next time and see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Marian
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
An incredibly easy to follow and came out so GOOD! I used chipotle seasoned kielbasa, a purple pepper (that's what I had on hand), salsa instead of the canned tomatoes, and cajun seasoning -- all recommendations from a previous poster and what a great result - see my picture! It took me no time to prepare and it was a hit. This is an easy dish that will have everyone thinking you worked far harder on it than you actually did. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Good but bland. I added a couple shakes of Creole seasoning, but it still wasn't flavorful enough for me. I think something is lost in the "Easy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Best beans ever. I only had dry beans so thats what I used. Skipped bell pepper since I didn't have it. Had diced tomatoes with chilli peppers instead of whole so I used them. I also added cajun seasoning, 1tsp cumin, and 8 sliced jalepenos. Spicy but even my kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States