Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
i made this last night and it was great my family love it so much that they wanted second, third, and fourth helping i would recommend this recipe to anyone who like one course meal if this web page had any more stars i would give it five more thanks you to the person who made this recipe it was great!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alfred

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
We did enjoy this recipe but as others said, it was not the normal spanish beans & rice. But it is very good when you don't know how to make the "real" thing. I kept most of the recipe the same, just changed a couple things. We did turkey kielbasa & used 3 garlic cloves, added a dash of cayenne pepper along with garlic salt & fresh cilantro. My friend who makes the "real" thing uses cilantro & I think that is what made this recipe have the yummy taste it did, next time I will use even more. I used diced tomatoes with oregano & garlic in the can. My 10 year old loved it..my 7 year old didn't like it, he ended up having a PB sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is awesome!!! I wasn't sure if my family would like this, and they loved it! It is going to become a staple in my family! I only made a couple changes. I omitted the tomatoes, and added maybe an 1/8 to 1/4 Texas Pete hot sauce, also added several generous dashes of a store bought Cajun seasoning mix. It was spicy! But so good! If you want to add a little more color, (as I did) add yellow peppers instead of green, it looks nice. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I didn't bother with the tomatoes. This recipe isn't bad, and it's really easy, but it is a little bland. I added a lot of hot sauce and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was great with the addition of a little cayenne pepper and some celery. I have had traditional red beans and rice, and while this is not the same, it is still really, really good for what it is. Just add some additional spices if you like it spicy! Even my boy loved it, although he has seen me eat red beans and rice at cajun restaurants and declared it looked "disgusting."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taertman2516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was a fairly good and easy meal. I only used 1 can of beans and that was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Great, has the LA look and taste. I was a little heavy with the garlic, oregano, and pepper but otherwise followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I recommend that you use a little olive oil (1 tbs). This recipe in my opinion does not need tomatoes and green peppers. Let rice and beans be rice and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I used crumbled spicy sausage instead of the kielbasa and added diced tomatoes with chiles. Both gave it a good flavor. My family loved it and it was great heated up for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
needs a little more kick to be a take on homemade red beans and rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by workncooknwork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States