Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was great. Easy, just like the title says, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Very quick and easy... everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
this recipe was so easy and tasted great. Being a vegetarian, I did omit the meat but it was great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I think this is a good recipe. I made it because we are beginning to eat healthier and I liked the nutrition facts on this. While I agree some spices are lacking (I used 2 tsp of my Emeril's "Bayou Blast" and will add more garlic and onion powder next time), I think some people need to be reminded that this is "EASY" red beans and rice. Nowhere in the recipe title does it state "cajun" or "authentic". If you are looking for something that's quick, healthy and tasty (with a little help from some extra seasoning), then this is for you. If you are looking for something "authentic", then you may want to look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANITEGAL316

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Ohio, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was excellent and had wonderful flavor. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FTBLOSU

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Great recipe! I took a note from others and doubled the recipe. I used regular Polska Kielbasa and Bush's red beans (drain AND rinse to remove sodium and the thick juice its in) instead of kidney beans. I added much more garlic, used Del Monte basil, oregano and garlic diced tomatoes (still added the oregano the recipe called for), added generous sprinkles of Emeril's Bayou Blast creole seasoning, but only a little at a time to prevent over salting (did not use individual salt and pepper since these are already in the seasoning), and only used half a green pepper although I doubled the recipe because I'm not a big fan of them; I may even it completely next time. Also, some complained that the juice was runny but if you allow the everything to simmer (I even put a lid on for about 15 minutes unlike what the recipe says), the beans will thicken the juice. After everything was in the pan, I believe I allowed this to simmer for at least 35 to 40 minutes since I doubled the recipe but honestly, I was just looking for the juices to thicken and they did. I had my heat on medium high then reduced it medium low once it achieved a low boil. Once I saw the thickness I wanted, I turned off the heat. This recipe will definitely be in regular rotation for dinner meals. We loved it and most of all, it's quick! I was never willing to try red beans and rice because it didn't look appetizing but I figured I'd try this since some reviewers said that their young children liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
? This! So good, Will defitinetly make this again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
As it says it was easy. I really liked it. Did add more garlic but I like garlic. Could not understand why anyone would leave out the tomatoes. Since I live alone I used 1/2 the kiebasa and one can of beans. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Had this for supper last night, and it was wonderful! The flavors were absolutely delicious! I made this with Polish Kilbasa, but will try this again using Turkey, hopefully the flavors will be the same, if not, I'll eat it and enjoy it the fattening way!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
i made this last night and it was great my family love it so much that they wanted second, third, and fourth helping i would recommend this recipe to anyone who like one course meal if this web page had any more stars i would give it five more thanks you to the person who made this recipe it was great!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alfred

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, California, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States