Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Great basic recipe. Very easy to spice up or down according to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riceville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was wonderful. So much better than the boxed stuff I usually buy. I used half and onion & half a red pepper (both leftover in the fridge) and one can of small beans and I eyeballed the tomatoes since I only had a 28oz can, but left everything else the same. This will now be my go to recipe from now on...However DBF said that it was lacking something...what that something is, neither of us could figure out...I'll make this again and tweak it here and there!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDGET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
So easy and tasty. I only used one can of kidney beans and spiced it up with more oregano and cayenne pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
NO this isn't authentic red beans and rice but I'm not an authentic louisiannian either. If that's how you spell it. This was very good I really enjoyed it for my lunch. I didn't have any green pepper so I used the frozen mix of celery onion and green peppers and a can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos. Very good will make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Good flavor, very easy, fairly quick, hard to screw up. I'm from Texas, so I can't say much about "traditional" red beans and rice. Even if this recipe doesn't pass muster for traditional, it was pretty good! I would advise spicing it up a bit (Tobasco is your friend), and I thought more rice was in order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I used lite smoked sausage, only one can of flavored beans and a few shakes of hot sauce. Good tasty meal! For sure, I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great Recipe!! I added 1/2 t thyme, a dash of parsley, some celery salt, and 1/2 t cayenne pepper. I omitted the oregano and used mild italian sausage and stewed tomatoes. I used about twice the rice and it was just right. Make sure that you let the beans simmer for a while so they soak up the flavor. Add a little water if you want it a little more saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac's mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I love this recipe! It tastes great with a vegetarian Italian sausage substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was pretty darn good! I ended up using smoked sausage - but would like to track down some andouille sausage for the next time I make it. To make it more authentic, I didn't use the tomatoes, I used 3 cloves of garlic, and I added some chopped celery and Cajun / creole seasoning. I also used 4 cans of red beans and made sure to smash some of them before serving (I used a potato masher - but you could also just smash some on the side of the pan with your spoon)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Loubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Helen, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This one was just ok for us. I thought it only needed 1 can of beans, but I discovered it to late. I actually had to add another can of tomatoes because it would have been way to dry. It also needed a lot more spice IMO. With some tweaks this could be a good recipe, but as written there are some minor problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States