Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I had a 14 oz. turkey kielbasa, a cup and a half of cooked white rice, added cajun seasoning, red pepper flakes,otherwise followed recipe. Super good,had all ingredients on hand-love it! very budget friendly : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is not traditional red beans and rice... I live in MS and my family is from LA. Although, it does have good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSGrl75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Living In: Harrisville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Good recipe, easy to spice up to taste. I LOVE the turkey kielbasa. The only thing I changed was using red peppers instead of green and really carmelizing them. They're so sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie LaBarba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OmaCindy
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is very close to the red beans and rice where I used to work. I did use cajun seasoning and added some red pepperflakes. I think i will use more tomatoes the next time as I like it a little more like stew. I had ben craving this and live outside of the US now so these kind of dishes are hard to find. Was very happy to be able to make it myself. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OmaCindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is excellent! & My family loved it! Ty for the recipe, it is a sure winner in this household as well : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Good recipe. I also added hot chile sauce and jalepeno sauce while simmering. Gave 4 stars b/c I guess I'm not a fan of this kind of dish. Good recipe and VERY easy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Euless, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I really liked this regardless of the authenticity of the recipe. I followed the recipe pretty closely, but added about 1 tbsp of creole seasoning and 1/8 tsp of red pepper. Used a 12 ounce turkey kilbasa and one whole tetrapack of Pomi chopped tomatoes. Didn't have green pepper so I used a red pepper, also had only one can of red kidneys so for the second can, I used white kidneys. Colorful, but I also put the whole thing over brown rice. My family and I really enjoyed the taste and I will probably make this again and experiment with other favors and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamaroneck, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I loved this dish....My fiance was amazed when he found out I used canned beans instead of cooking them myself. I will most definetely use this recipe again. I did do some-what of a remix to it to make it a little bit more spicier, but overall it was great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Great basic recipe. Very easy to spice up or down according to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riceville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was wonderful. So much better than the boxed stuff I usually buy. I used half and onion & half a red pepper (both leftover in the fridge) and one can of small beans and I eyeballed the tomatoes since I only had a 28oz can, but left everything else the same. This will now be my go to recipe from now on...However DBF said that it was lacking something...what that something is, neither of us could figure out...I'll make this again and tweak it here and there!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDGET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States