Easy Raspberry Chicken with Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
The chicken was tasty and fast. The raspberry vinegar made a nice sauce. The rice, however, was not as flavorful as I would have liked and made too thick by the coconut milk. I think a side vegetable, like snap peas, would make a world of difference to this. Overall I'd say this dish has a lot of unfullfilled potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
The other day my friend and I tried to make this recipe, and we were very dissappionted. Before we added the raspberry sause, the chicken was actually so delicious that my friend and I were afraid that the vinager sause may just ruin the chicken entirely. We were right. Not only did the acid from the vinager sause burn my friend's eyes as she was pouring the chicken and the sause into a serving dish, but the sause was not good at all. At first I didn't think it was too bad, but after eating it for a while, I discovered how terrible the sause was because it did not balance out with the chicken at all. We were so desparate that we actually dipped the chicken in raspberry jam, which did make it somewhat better. The only reason why I am even giving this review 2 stars is because of the chicken we had made before we added the sause. I advise everyone to make that and just skip the sause unless you want irritated eyes and a bad after taste in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
The recipe would have actually gotten four stars had it not been for the raspberry vinegar that needed to be added at the end. It COMPLETELY ruined the chicken. I've used raspberry vinegar before, but this just did not mix with the chicken. It became so acidic and overwelming with the strange flavor combinations, that when I was putting the chicken onto a plate after letting it simmer in the vinegar, I literally began to choke on the steam from it. The odor of the spices and vinegar made my eyes begin to tear, and my nose and throat were also began to burn. My advice, DO NOT add the raspberry vinegar. Leave the chicken as it is with only the lemon pepper because it tastes great then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
The Raspberry chicken was great! Tangy, sweet, great reaction from my boyfriend. But the coconut rice wasn't so good--a bit mushy, and pretty bland. Next time I'll go with a different side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
My husband and I thought this was excellent, kids weren't overly thrilled with it. That being said, I will be making this again. Two reviewers mentioned the rice was mushy. I made mine in a rice cooker and had no problems. On the stove, you have to make sure all the liquid boils down and be sure to not stir it. If you stir rice while it's cooking, it gets very sticky. The flavor on the rice is very mild, but it's ment to compliment the chicken. If you want a more flavorful side dish, definately skip this rice. I thought it was great though. HTH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I cooked this chicken for my family, and every single person who cooks asked me for the recipe. It's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I thought this was excellent!!! I would suggest stirring the coconut milk before pouring, since it seperated so badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAE82978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Delicious! The subtle flavors complemented each other so well. This is great for those who like something that's not overly potent once in a while. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
My daughter thought this was delicious but I just thought it was ok. It seemed a bit like the 'sweet & sour' dishes you might get at the Chinese takeaway. Also, like other reviewers, I liked the chicken better prior to adding the vinegar. I also had to add some garlic, salt & pepper to the sauce to tone down the sweet/pungentness of the vinegar - may have also benefited from some cream (I didnt have any). I think the other raspberry chicken recipe on here is much preferable, esp with a few tweaks. However, I did like the rice (nice smooth & subtle taste) - I simply put in microwave instead of boiling on stove. Thanks for the recipe - I am nearly out of the raspberry vinegar I was given now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I made this for some guests who seemed to like it. it reminded me of something at a chinese restaurant for sure, but probably less bad for you :) I know it's not the same at all, but instead of raspberry vinegar I used blueberry syrup and white vinegar lol. I thought it was good. but maybe Im not the one to ask because I dont mind a potent vinegar taste at all. SUMMARY: VERY GOOD AND LOTS OF INTERESTING NEW FLAVOUR COMBINATIONS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States