Easy Raspberry Chicken with Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
the vinegar was completely overpowering! So much so that one of my children had a hard time breathing around the fumes. I wouldn't add it again We all loved the rice (even though my 5 kids generally don't like rice!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Flavorful chicken. Rice needed salt or less water or both. It was a little "crumbly" even from the rice cooker, but the coconut flavor was just right. It just needed "something". Not really a sauce for the combo but still a suitable match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I agree with others who say that the raspberry vinegar totally ruined the dish. Perhaps I didn't reduce it enough... perhaps more time spent reducing would let more vinegar evaporate and reduce the intense vinegar taste. Besides that, the proportions for the rice seemed off: it calls for over 3 cups of liquid for 1 cup of rice; my basmati rice instructions say 1 1/2 cups of liquid for 1 cup of rice. I used 2 cups of rice instead of one and the rice cooked up fine, though I didn't like it. It had a too-intense coconut flavor. Also, 1/3 cup flour for that amount of chicken did not seem like enough; I used 2/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was delicious. I read some of the negative comments, but tried it anyway. My tips are to shake the can of coconut milk very well before opening it to avoid the need for stirring much before cooking. USE BASMATI RICE!Do not stir while cooking. I used only 1 tsp of jarred fresh ginger but will use more next time. All you need is a little salt at the table and the rice is great- creamy and delicious. The chicken was perfect- just be sure to let the vinegar reduce- you do not have to stand by the pan breathing the fumes:) It only takes a few minutes to reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommafourtimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
My husband and I were having date night in, and I thought I would make this because I had it in my recipe box so long, and I never tried it. I'm glad I did. Talk about flavorful and fragrant! This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Good recipe. The rice was great, but I cooked it with the coconut milk and added a little extra water because the amount called for seemed like way too much. I also put the vinegar in right after taking the chicken out which de-glazed the pan and reduced the vinegar making a small amount of syrupy sauce to put the chicken back into. I was a little concerned about it being too 'vinegary' but once it reduced down it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The rice for this is awesome. I made it in my rice cooker and it turned out perfect. The chicken tasted very good and was moist. Myonly complant was the color of the chicken. I used raspberry balsamic vinegar, and when i reduced it, it turned black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
absolute disaster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
A really good recipe!!! My husband kept eating it after our company had gone. There won't be any leftovers for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sizzlin' Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Actually ended up baking instead of using stove top. So I followed the same directions with breading chicken,except added rosemary in with flour and other ingredients. Then mixed the raspberry vinegar with a little olive oil (used a little more of each). Stirred chicken while cooking and kept adding the raspberry vinegar & oil throughout cooking. Skipped the rice and grilled red & green peppers with onions - seasoned with lemon pepper, rosemary, and white wine vinegar. They complemented each other very well. Made the kitchen smell delicious and tasted even better!! I will definitely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States