Easy Raspberry Chicken with Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I could only find raspberry wine vinegar and I had the same experience that a few of the other raters had when cooking up the vinegar: the smell became unbearably strong. It even stung my eyes to walk into the kitchen and I can still smell it and it's been 2 days! My boyfriend thought the smell might make him sick! I only added a few pieces of the chicken to the vinegar to test it out and b/c the smell was still so strong, I wasn't up to tasting it on my chicken, so the chicken was pretty good without the vinegar. And since many people noted the blandness of the rice, I made the more highly rated Asian Coconut rice and that turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I made this exactly as directed except I did not have the raspberry vinegar. Instead I used chicken broth and a little soy sauce. The result was a yummy dinner that I was able to make with just what I had on hand. Thanks for sharing, I've already been asked to make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This did not turn out well, and the flavor was strange to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I tried this last night because I'm always looking for something a little bit different. It came out great and my fiance, who is a very picky eater, LOVED it. He said it tasted like sweet and sour chicken with a raspberry twist. I couldn't find raspberry vinegar at my local grocer, so I just used raspberry vinagrette which probably gave it a sweeter taste than it would have had. I made the coconut rice with just water and coconut milk and then topped it with some toasted coconut when it was done because fresh ginger is very strong and my fiance doesn't like it. It went well with some steamed sugar snap peas on the side. Maybe I'll go back and try it with the ginger next time though, just to satisfy my curiousity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This chicken is amazing. The reviews that said it was too vinegar tasting must not have boiled it down enough. It `makes 1`a nice, fairly thick but still light sauce. It isn't supposed to be watery. The rice could have been better but the chicken was way better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaconda, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I have made this several times in the past and my husband and I love it. I only used 1 cup water and subsituted litehouse walnut raspberry vinegrette. I added a bit of chicken stock to de glaze the pan before adding the vinegrette and topped with a few fresh raspberries. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
The mix of the sweetness of the rice, in which I added a little bit of shredded coconut and some sliced almonds, and the chicken in the vinegar sauce was very good. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I replaced raspberry vinegar with 1/2 cup apple juice and a dozen fresh/frozen red raspberries and one Tablespoon of Apple Cider Vinegar. It was absolutley delicious. Thank you for this new recipe to be placed in my cookbook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Teal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This is SO good. The only suggestion I would make is to cut the water down from 2 cups to 1 cup when cooking the rice. Since a can of coconut milk is used I think 2 cups of water is too much as it causes the rice to be over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Corcoran

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States