Easy Raisin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hanaan
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I really like this easy recipe! I just added a cup of amaranth instead of walnuts and it turned just perfect ;) a healthy option for a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by serenity53
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Delicious added 2 eggs used much less sugar ..it was a bit liquidity so I added a bit more flour before i put it in the baking dish.... and it turned out moist and tasty...nice flavour it is my favourite and will make it again many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Followed directions to the T but cake came out gummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
it is wow. It is what I was looking for...delicious, moist and full of flavor. I simply like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Family and friends loved the cake. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was delicious. I had never made a cake that started in a saucepan before. I eliminated the walnuts, but followed everything else as directed and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I love this recipe, i'm not a big fan of raisins so i used cranberry instead, everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Someone else said the batter seemed dry and they added 3 eggs I agree that the batter seemed dry but I only added 2 eggs to the mixture. I also subbed chopped pecans for the walnuts as we are not really a walnut loving family but we like pecans... besides that I did everything else as described in the recipe and I just added the eggs last and it turned out nice and moist. My husband and father in law didn't like it but myself, my son, my mother in law, and grandmother in law all liked this cake a lot. I don't know if I'll make it again simply because my husband didn't enjoy it but it is a good recipe for if I have some raisins I need to use up so I'm gonna hold onto it. We eat raisins often but sometimes we forget we have a box laying around and they start getting kinda dry as in the case of me making this cake and cooking the raisins in the water remedies that situation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Colette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought this was a tasty cake, although it was a bit to sweet to serve as breakfast or for a snack. I will reduce the sugar when I make it again. It was very easy to put together and I had all the ingredients in my pantry. I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose flour. I didn't have a 10"x10" pan so I used a 9"x13" pan and the cake was done after 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Delicious! Added extra raisins and used applesauce instead of butter to lighten it up. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States