Easy Pumpkin Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is great I haden't ever thought to do a turnover with pumpkin. My husband thought it was good but asked me to make some frosting for the rest and then he thought they were great. I agree with him juts a little powdered sugar forsting drizzled on was very good thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
These are delicious! My father and I made them yesterday to test them out for a possible Thanksgiving dessert. We gave some to our neighbors, some to my boyfriend's family, and kept some for ourselves. They were a hit with everyone! We did, however, use fresh pie pumpkin rather than canned pumpkin. And, as a little touch, we wet the tops of the turnovers and dipped them in some white sugar. They came out very little and cute. This recipe will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These are very tasty and not difficult to make. There are some points that need clarified, however. Make sure you flour the work surface before rolling out the pastry. This will keep it from sticking. Start with a Tablespoon of filling in the center of each square. Some filling is likely to escaqpe during baking, but that's par for the course with turnovers. These are delicious "as is", but I decided to top mine with a spiced maple glaze drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The filing had a little too much cinnamon in it, and it felt like it was undercooked a bit and was missing something in texture. I can't say they weren't good though, because my family devoured them. :) I sprinkled them with regular sugar before baking. As a side note, don't use phyllo dough. I tried some with it and it was good but just didn't have the same pizzaz as the pastry dough. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADERN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My father in law really enjoyed these, I had to make 3 batches just to take to my in laws for the holidays! I also blended some blueberry preserves with cream cheese and a little dash of whipping cream for an alternate filling, both were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Um...how do you get 9 out of a sheet? That's an odd number. Am I just dumb? (valid question). I used Pepperidge Farms and could either get 4 or 16, so I chose 4. They turned out full size and with a few extra cooking minutes-just really nice. I also read the reviews and used an orange juice concentrate glaze on them. I made apple pie filling ones with cinnamon glaze. It's important if you use a glaze though to not make it frosting thick because the pastry itself cools really fast and won't so much melt the glaze the way a sweet roll would. If your glaze is too thick, it will depress the top of the pastry. A slightly runny glaze works best. I think it would be really fun to try these with Lime Curd with some sort of pommegranate glaze for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitsakatsa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Yum! These were delicious! I made them as the recipe said (except for using canned pumpkin) and they were perfectly spiced, perfect consistency...I can't wait to take some for a get together or something. I used the Pepperidge Farms Puff Pastry, which made it easy to cut into nine squares and required no flour on the parchment paper--just thaw out, cut out, spoonful of the pumpkin mixture, and you're good. None of my pumpkin mixture came out of the edges...but I used my fingernail to pinch them down good and I didn't overstuff them...for me, less than a Tablespoon worked better. For the reviewer that wanted more details, the puff pastry in the grocery store actually says "Puff Pastry" on the packages, so I'm not sure where the confusion came in regarding Fillo Dough. Also, the recipe just calls for 1 cup of pumpkin, so probably any of the can sizes at the store would work, as would using fresh pumpkin, which is what I used. You just need one cup, not a whole can. :) Hope this helps. Thank you for posting this scrumptious recipe--you helped me broaden my horizons as I've never used puff pastry before. I sure will now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The recipies for begginers should have been more DELTAILED. The pasty should have a brand name example I bought the wrong dough! (Fillo dough) The "CAN" of pumpkin? What size? In MY grocery stores I have 3 sizes of cans for pumkin filling. The family said it what still good but WAY too rich.I had to figure out how to use the fillo dough so I just layered it. I just try something different next year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.CooksALot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great tasting, easy recipe. I used a dollop of cream cheese in some and those were great as well. I only used cinnamon, no pumpkin spice, and added a splash of vanilla and a bit more pumpkin as it tasted like too much cinnamon. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soogirly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Easy, but very bland. I didn't like the texture of the filling, and the dough overwhelmed it. Maybe more sugar and spice would help. Also, when I tried to reheat in the toaster oven the next day, they just got soggy and lost any buttery-cripness. Not good for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States