Easy Pumpkin Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is great I haden't ever thought to do a turnover with pumpkin. My husband thought it was good but asked me to make some frosting for the rest and then he thought they were great. I agree with him juts a little powdered sugar forsting drizzled on was very good thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The filing had a little too much cinnamon in it, and it felt like it was undercooked a bit and was missing something in texture. I can't say they weren't good though, because my family devoured them. :) I sprinkled them with regular sugar before baking. As a side note, don't use phyllo dough. I tried some with it and it was good but just didn't have the same pizzaz as the pastry dough. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADERN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
These are delicious! My father and I made them yesterday to test them out for a possible Thanksgiving dessert. We gave some to our neighbors, some to my boyfriend's family, and kept some for ourselves. They were a hit with everyone! We did, however, use fresh pie pumpkin rather than canned pumpkin. And, as a little touch, we wet the tops of the turnovers and dipped them in some white sugar. They came out very little and cute. This recipe will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
These are very simple and pretty. They are a nice alternative to pie. Dusted with sugar, as someone suggested and they taste yummy. Not really exciting, but good for a change this time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make. I only put in half the cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. I also added marshmellows to the batter. The turnovers had a really good taste. I did have to bake them for about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The recipies for begginers should have been more DELTAILED. The pasty should have a brand name example I bought the wrong dough! (Fillo dough) The "CAN" of pumpkin? What size? In MY grocery stores I have 3 sizes of cans for pumkin filling. The family said it what still good but WAY too rich.I had to figure out how to use the fillo dough so I just layered it. I just try something different next year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.CooksALot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
These were very tasty and easy to make, although I would change the spices. I added what was asked and it was way too much. I would cut the spices down a bit. Otherwise it was pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My father in law really enjoyed these, I had to make 3 batches just to take to my in laws for the holidays! I also blended some blueberry preserves with cream cheese and a little dash of whipping cream for an alternate filling, both were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I thought these needed a little more sugar & spice. I did used fresh pureed pumpkin so that could have accounted for the blandness. Great easy idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
These were awesome! Not too much spice and they tasted great! My picky family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States