Easy Pumpkin Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great tasting, easy recipe. I used a dollop of cream cheese in some and those were great as well. I only used cinnamon, no pumpkin spice, and added a splash of vanilla and a bit more pumpkin as it tasted like too much cinnamon. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soogirly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These are very tasty and not difficult to make. There are some points that need clarified, however. Make sure you flour the work surface before rolling out the pastry. This will keep it from sticking. Start with a Tablespoon of filling in the center of each square. Some filling is likely to escaqpe during baking, but that's par for the course with turnovers. These are delicious "as is", but I decided to top mine with a spiced maple glaze drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Easy, but very bland. I didn't like the texture of the filling, and the dough overwhelmed it. Maybe more sugar and spice would help. Also, when I tried to reheat in the toaster oven the next day, they just got soggy and lost any buttery-cripness. Not good for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is excellent. I made it using the ingredients as given. I did drizzle an icing made of confectioners sugar and water over the top. My husband could not believe how good these were. The only down side is puff pastry is kind of pricey and these things go fast! They are very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
These were easy to make, but pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
These were awesome! Not too much spice and they tasted great! My picky family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I thought these needed a little more sugar & spice. I did used fresh pureed pumpkin so that could have accounted for the blandness. Great easy idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My father in law really enjoyed these, I had to make 3 batches just to take to my in laws for the holidays! I also blended some blueberry preserves with cream cheese and a little dash of whipping cream for an alternate filling, both were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
These were very tasty and easy to make, although I would change the spices. I added what was asked and it was way too much. I would cut the spices down a bit. Otherwise it was pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The recipies for begginers should have been more DELTAILED. The pasty should have a brand name example I bought the wrong dough! (Fillo dough) The "CAN" of pumpkin? What size? In MY grocery stores I have 3 sizes of cans for pumkin filling. The family said it what still good but WAY too rich.I had to figure out how to use the fillo dough so I just layered it. I just try something different next year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.CooksALot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States